Giuseppe Caire to receive the 2015 Vodafone Innovation Award

for his cutting-edge research on mobile data transmission.

With his ground-breaking research, Giuseppe Caire has established the foundation that enables the latest generation of antennas for smartphones and mobile telephone base stations to transmit data significantly faster and more efficiently, the jury noted in its statement.  more


Two Humboldtians to receive the 2015 Princess of Asturias Award

Emilio Lledó Íñigo, philosopher and early Humboldtian, and Emmanuelle Charpentier, molecular biologist and Humboldt Professor, have been chosen to receive one of Spain’s most prestigious awards.

The Spanish philosopher and Humboldtian Emilio Lledó Íñigo will receive the Princess of Asturias Award in the category Communication and Humanities. He is being honoured as a thinker with international renown and an exemplary career in the humanities, the jury stated in its announcement. Born in ...  more


New Alexander von Humboldt Professors selected

Four researchers ‒ three women and one man ‒ from abroad to receive Germany’s top international research award in 2016 and conduct research in Saarbrücken, Halle, Münster and Bonn in future.

A Computer scientist and an Ecologist from the USA, a Jewish Studies scholar from Israel and an Islamic scholar from Great Britain have been selected for an Alexander von Humboldt Professorship, Germany’s most valuable international research prize which comes with up to five million euros in ...  more


Humboldt Professorships bring international research stars to Germany

Research Minister Wanka and Humboldt Foundation President Schwarz confer Alexander von Humboldt Professorships.

Five top researchers (four women and one man) from abroad were awarded Alexander von Humboldt Professorships Tuesday evening in Berlin. Germany’s Research Minister Johanna Wanka and the President of the Humboldt Foundation, Helmut Schwarz, presented Germany’s best-endowed research award to ...  more


Invitation to the award ceremony for the Alexander von Humboldt Professorships in Berlin on 12 May

Five award winners from abroad will each receive up to €5 million and soon conduct research in Berlin, Göttingen, Halle, Munich and Tübingen.

On 12 May, Federal Minister of Education and Research Johanna Wanka and Helmut Schwarz, the President of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, will confer the Alexander von Humboldt Professorships in Berlin. The Alexander von Humboldt Professorship is Germany’s best-endowed research award. The ...  more


Social psychologist Jens Förster relinquishes Alexander von Humboldt Professorship

The social psychologist, Professor Dr Jens Förster, Ruhr-Universität Bochum, has relinquished his Alexander von Humboldt Professorship. The deliberations scheduled to take place with the Foundation’s executive bodies on the decision to temporarily suspend sponsorship are, therefore, not being ...  more


Decision on the Humboldt Professorship for Jens Förster expected to be announced on 7 May 2015

At its next meeting in April 2015 the Selection Committee of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation will deliberate on the Humboldt Professorship for Professor Dr Jens Förster which it temporarily suspended last year. It will then issue a recommendation. Following this, the Foundation will present ...  more


Humboldt Professor Matthias Tschöp at Campus Talks

The Alexander von Humboldt Professor Matthias Tschöp will spend face-to-face time with the Campus Talks audience on 17 March. Researchers explain their work in a nutshell during the programme which is broadcast on ARD-alpha, the education channel of the ARD television company. Each visitor has 13 ...  more


Stuart Parkin gives inaugural lecture in Halle

On 22 January 2015 Stuart Parkin will be giving his inaugural lecture in Halle: Cognitive and Spintronic Technologies. In April 2014 he became a professor in the Institute of Physics at Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg and the Director of the Max Planck Institute of Microstructure ...  more


The 2015 Louis-Jeantet Prize for Medicine is awarded to Emmanuelle Charpentier

for her contribution in harnessing an ancient mechanism of bacterial immunity into a powerful technology for editing genomes.

The Louis-Jeantet Foundation grants the sum of CHF 700.000 for each of the two ...  more