New Alexander von Humboldt Professors chosen

Five researchers from abroad selected to receive Germany’s most valuable international research award in 2018 and move to Berlin, Saxony-Anhalt, Bavaria, Baden-Württemberg and North Rhine-Westphalia.

The Alexander von Humboldt Professorship comes with up to €5 million in funding and is granted to eminent researchers of all disciplines who have been working abroad up to now. They are expected to conduct cutting-edge research at German universities on a long-term basis. The award amount is earmarked for the first five years of their research in Germany. The Humboldt Professorship is granted by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation and financed by Germany's Federal Ministry of Education and Research.

The newly selected award winners were chosen from a total of eleven nominees from Australia, Belgium, France, Great Britain, Saudi Arabia and the USA.They will now embark on appointment negotiations with the German universities that nominated them. If the researchers accept the Humboldt Professorship, the award will be conferred in May 2018.

  • Solid state physicist Bogdan Andrei Bernevig, currently at Princeton University, USA, was nominated by Freie Universität Berlin together with the Max Planck Institute of Microstructure Physics, Halle.
  • Marco Caccamo, computer scientist at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA, was nominated by Technische Universität München (TUM).
  • Anthropologist Margaret C. Crofoot currently at the University of California, USA, was nominated by the University of Konstanz.
  • Linguist Ewa Dąbrowska, currently at the University of Birmingham, United Kingdom, was nominated by the University of Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU).
  • Raul Fidel Tempone, mathematician at King Abdullah University of Science and Technology in Thuwal, Saudi Arabia, was nominated by RWTH Aachen University.

The Humboldt Professorship enables German universities to offer top international researchers competitive general conditions for research and to sharpen their own international profiles in the global research market at the same time. The award is granted on the condition that the new Humboldt Professors are given long-term prospects for their research in Germany.