Thorsten Wagener

Hydrology

Water is life. We drink it, wash and cook with it, but we also need it to supply power and for industrial production. So, an adequate supply of water is essential to us. Too much water can, however, threaten our existence. Particularly in times of climate change and irregular rainfall, models that explain and predict how and when hydrologic extremes like flooding and drought come about are in great demand. Models that use mathematics to describe hydrologic processes and dangers are Thorsten Wagener’s research field. His methods for reducing uncertainty in hydrologic modelling and prediction have set standards in his research area – and not just there. A software developed by him and his team is now also used worldwide, for example, in the insurance sector and engineering.
What’s more, water knows no boundaries. International, interdisciplinary cooperation is very important to Thorsten Wagener. He wants to establish hydrology as a key science that can deliver important insights into the role of water events in spreading infectious diseases and into the local impacts of climate change.

With research institutes such as PIK (Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research) and GFZ (German Research Centre for Geosciences), Potsdam already provides a unique research infrastructure for climate and environmental topics. Here, Thorsten Wagener is set to play key role as a Humboldt Professor. The University of Potsdam is thus striving to join the international vanguard of water research. It is planning a new Potsdam Research Cluster for Water, Environment and Society as a global hub for research, innovation and teaching to secure water supplies under changing (climatic) conditions.

Thorsten Wagener has been selected for the Humboldt Professorship and will now embark on appointment negotiations with the German university that nominated him. If the negotiations succeed, the award will be conferred in 2021.

Nominating University: University of Potsdam

Prof. Dr. Thorsten Wagener

was born in Germany and has been Professor of Water and Environmental Engineering at the University of Bristol, UK, since 2012. After attending university in Siegen and Delft (Netherlands), including a period spent in Ethiopia, he completed his doctorate at Imperial College London in 2002. He then relocated to Pennsylvania State University in the United States, where he became an assistant professor in 2004 and an associate professor in 2009. Thorsten Wagener has received many honours, such as the Humboldt Foundation’s Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Award and the Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award; he is co-editor of various journals, a member of the European Academy of Sciences and a fellow of the Institution of Civil Engineers.

Thorsten Wagener

Hydrologie

Wasser ist Leben. Wir trinken es, wir waschen und kochen damit, aber wir brauchen es auch zur Energieversorgung und für die industrielle Produktion. Eine ausreichende Versorgung mit Wasser ist also essenziell für uns. Zu viel Wasser kann jedoch zur Bedrohung für unser Leben werden. Besonders in Zeiten des Klimawandels und unregelmäßiger Niederschläge sind daher Modelle, die erklären und vorhersagen, wie und wann es zu hydrologischen Extremen wie Hochwassern und Trockenperioden kommt, sehr gefragt. Solche Modelle zur mathematischen Beschreibung von hydrologischen Prozessen und Gefahren sind das Forschungsfeld von Thorsten Wagener. Seine Methoden zur Reduzierung der Unsicherheiten in der hydrologischen Modellierung und Vorhersage sind Standards seines Forschungsgebiets – und nicht nur dort. Eine von ihm und seinem Team entwickelte Software ist heute weltweit beispielsweise auch in der Versicherungswirtschaft oder den Ingenieurwissenschaften im Einsatz.
Und: Wasser kennt keine Grenzen. Internationale und interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit ist Thorsten Wagener sehr wichtig. Er will die Hydrologie als Schlüsselwissenschaft etablieren, die wichtige Beiträge liefern kann zur Rolle von Wasserereignissen bei der Ausbreitung von Infektionskrankheiten oder zu lokalen Auswirkungen des Klimawandels.

Mit Forschungseinrichtungen wie dem PIK (Potsdam-Institut für Klimafolgenforschung) oder dem GFZ (Deutsches GeoForschungsZentrum) besteht in Potsdam bereits eine einzigartige Forschungsinfrastruktur zu Klima- und Umweltthemen, in der Thorsten Wagener als Humboldt-Professor künftig eine Schlüsselrolle spielen soll. Die Universität Potsdam strebt damit eine international führende Stellung auf dem Gebiet der Wasserforschung an. Geplant ist ein neues Potsdam Research Cluster for Water, Environment and Society (Forschungszentrum für Wasser, Umwelt und Gesellschaft), das ein weltweiter Vernetzungsknoten für Forschung, Innovation und Lehre werden soll, um die Wasserversorgung unter sich ändernden (Klima-)Bedingungen sicherzustellen.

Thorsten Wagener wurde für die Humboldt-Professur ausgewählt und ist derzeit in Berufungsverhandlungen mit der deutschen Universität, die ihn für den Preis nominiert hat. Werden diese erfolgreich abgeschlossen, wird der Preis 2021 verliehen.

Nominierende Universität: Universität Potsdam

Prof. Dr. Thorsten Wagener

in Deutschland geboren, ist seit 2012 Professor für Wasser- und Umweltingenieurwesen an der Faculty of Engineering der University of Bristol, Vereinigtes Königreich. Nach dem Studium in Siegen und Delft (Niederlande) mit einem Auslandsaufenthalt in Äthiopien wurde er 2002 am Imperial College in London promoviert. Als Postdoc und DAAD-Stipendiat wechselte er in die USA und wurde 2004 Assistant und 2009 Associate Professor an der Pennsylvania State University. Er erhielt zahlreiche Auszeichnungen wie den Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel-Forschungspreis der Humboldt-Stiftung und den Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award, ist Mitherausgeber verschiedener Zeitschriften sowie Mitglied der European Academy of Sciences und Fellow der Institution of Civil Engineers.