Bart Thomma

Microbiology

Our soil is more than just dark, crumbly earth. It is home to innumerable microorganisms. How they develop, reproduce and impact on plants is crucial for agriculture. Bart Thomma studies microscopic soil fungi that attack plants and cause disease. But how do these fungi manage to outwit the plants’ defensive mechanisms? In order to answer this question, Thomma examines the fungi’s genes and proteins. His aim is to develop innovative strategies to combat the plant diseases cause by fungi.
The evolution of the ascomycete fungus Verticillium dahliae is one focus of his work. This fungus can attack a particularly large number of crop plants from potatoes, tomatoes and strawberries through to fruit trees and other shrubs. It suppresses their immune system and disrupts the plant’s water supply so that green leaves turn pale and limp. Moreover, the fungus uses a special mechanism to reproduce, constantly combining its genetic material in new ways despite reproducing asexually.

At the University of Cologne, Bart Thomma is to continue his research on soil organisms and their interactions with plants. He is expected to head a new Centre for Microbial Interactomics that is due to be established and within which he will focus on evolutionary microbiology. He will also cooperate with human biologists. After all, if we understand more about the genetics and interactions of microorganisms in the soil, this could be of use to medicine, too – in improving antibiotics, for instance.

Nominating University: University of Cologne

Prof. Dr. Bart Thomma

is Dutch. He completed his doctorate in biology at KU Leuven, Belgium, in 2000, subsequently working there as a postdoc. In 2003, he relocated to Wageningen University in the Netherlands, achieving outstanding results in research and teaching that brought him an assistant professorship in 2006. In 2009, he became a tenured associate professor and after a further four years, a full professor. In the course of his career, Thomma has received high-ranking Dutch funding. His work has also gained him international recognition, amongst others from the British Society for Plant Pathology that awarded him the RKS Wood Prize for excellent science in the study of plant disease pathology in 2018.
In August 2020 he took up his position as a Humboldt Professor at the University of Cologne.

Bart Thomma

Mikrobiologie

Unser Boden ist mehr als dunkle, krümelige Erde. In ihm leben unzählige Mikroorganismen. Wie sie sich entwickeln, vermehren und Pflanzen beeinflussen, ist entscheidend für die Landwirtschaft. Bart Thomma erforscht mikroskopisch kleine Bodenpilze, die Pflanzen als Schädlinge befallen und Krankheiten auslösen. Doch wie können diese Pilze die Abwehrmechanismen der Pflanzen überlisten? Um diese Frage zu beantworten, untersucht Thomma Gene und Proteine der Pilze. Das Ziel: Innovative Strategien gegen solche von Pilzen ausgelösten Pflanzenkrankheiten entwickeln.
Die Evolution des Schlauchpilzes Verticillium dahliae ist ein Schwerpunkt seiner Arbeit. Dieser Pilz kann besonders viele Nutzpflanzen von Kartoffeln, Tomaten und Erdbeeren bis hin zu Obstbäumen und anderen Gehölzen als Schädling befallen. Er unterdrückt ihr Immunsystem und stört die Wasserversorgung in der Pflanze, so dass grüne Blätter fahl und schlaff werden. Außerdem hat der Pilz bei der Vermehrung einen besonderen Mechanismus: Er kann seine Erbanlagen immer wieder neu kombinieren, obwohl er sich asexuell vermehrt.

An der Universität zu Köln soll Bart Thomma Bodenorganismen und ihre Wechselwirkungen mit Pflanzen weiter erforschen. Es soll ein „Centre for Microbial Interactomics“ gegründet werden, das Thomma leiten und in dem er die evolutionäre Mikrobiologie vertreten soll. Außerdem soll er mit Humanbiologen zusammenarbeiten. Denn wenn man Mikroorganismen im Boden mit ihrer Genetik und ihren Wechselwirkungen genauer versteht, könnte das auch hilfreich für die Medizin sein – zum Beispiel für die Verbesserung von Antibiotika.

Nominierende Universität: Universität zu Köln

Prof. Dr. Bart Thomma

ist Niederländer. Er wurde im Jahr 2000 in Biologie an der Universität Leuven in Belgien promoviert, wo er auch als Postdoc tätig war. 2003 wechselte er an die Universität Wageningen, Niederlande. Dort erreichte er herausragende Ergebnisse in Forschung und Lehre und wurde 2006 Assistenz-Professor. 2009 folgte die Berufung auf eine Tenured Associate-Professur; nach nur weiteren vier Jahren Beförderung zur Vollprofessur. Im Verlauf seiner Karriere hat Thomma jeweils hochrangige niederländische Förderungen erhalten. Internationale Anerkennung zeigt sich unter anderem in der Auszeichnung 2018 durch die British Society for Plant Pathology mit dem RKS Wood Prize für Spitzenleistungen in der Pflanzenpathologie-Forschung.
Im August 2020 trat er seine Humboldt-Professur an der Universität zu Köln an.