Christoph Keplinger

Robotics

Robots may be better at maths than humans. But when it comes to movement even the latest generation of humanoid robots seem stiff and awkward. Every child moves faster, more adroitly and elegantly than a robot. And that is partly due to the flexibility of connective tissue, skin and fasciae. Moreover, natural muscle is a veritable miracle of evolution: by contracting, muscle fibres exert a force, maintain tension, respond to the environment, control movement and self-regenerate. The human’s muscles are the robot’s actuators. Christoph Keplinger and his research group have been inspired by nature. The HASEL technology, or hydraulically amplified self-healing electrostatic actuators, are “artificial muscles” that can hold their own with their biological models.
Keplinger’s artificial muscles go back to an experiment conducted in the 19th century by the physicist James Clerk Maxwell. With the aid of an electromagnetic field he discovered that oil in a container between two metal plates could be made to move. Electricity has a mechanical effect was the inference drawn at the time. Keplinger has applied the principle to flexible containers like simple freezer bags filled with a dielectric fluid. If voltage is applied to one part of the bag the fluid moves to the other side – a movement that equates to the contraction of a natural muscle. Depending on the shape of the bag and the combination and arrangement of the individual HASEL packages, multiple muscle formations can be built, such as an elephant’s trunk.

At the Else Kröner Fresenius Centre for Digital Health (EKFZ) in Dresden, Christoph Keplinger will become a Humboldt Professor, working on soft robotics at the intersection of medicine and advanced technology. TU Dresden has developed a research focus on “Digital Health” in recent years. It is to be expected that Christoph Keplinger’s groundbreaking inventions will not only revolutionise the future of soft robotics; HASEL actuators could soon be used for medical protheses, as well.

Christoph Keplinger has been selected for the Humboldt Professorship and will now embark on appointment negotiations with the German university that nominated him. If the negotiations succeed, the award will be conferred in 2021.

Nominating University: TU Dresden

Dr. Christoph Keplinger

was born in Austria. He initially read physics in Linz, Austria, where he also completed his doctorate. He spent three and a half years as a postdoc at Harvard University, United States, working in two distinguished chemistry and mechanics research groups. Since 2015, Keplinger has been an assistant professor at the University of Colorado, Boulder, United States, where he and his research group developed the HASEL actuator and made it ready for technological application. In 2017, he received the prestigious Packard Fellowship for Science and Engineering.

Christoph Keplinger

Robotik

Roboter mögen besser rechnen können als Menschen. Wenn es aber darum geht, Bewegungen auszuführen, wirken selbst humanoide Roboter der neuesten Generation steif und ungelenk. Jedes Kind bewegt sich schneller, geschickter und eleganter als ein Roboter. Das liegt unter anderem an der Flexibilität von Bindegewebe, Haut und Faszien. Zudem stellen natürliche Muskeln ein wahres Wunderwerk der Evolution dar: Muskelfasern üben durch Kontraktion Kräfte aus, halten Spannung, reagieren auf die Umgebung, steuern Bewegungen und sie regenerieren sich selbst. Was Muskeln für den Menschen sind, sind Antriebstechniken für den Roboter. Christoph Keplinger und seine Forschungsgruppe haben sich von der Natur inspirieren lassen. Mit der elektrostatischen Antriebstechnik HASEL (hydraulically amplified self-healing electrostatic actuators) haben sie „künstliche Muskeln“ gebaut, die den biologischen Vorbildern kaum nachstehen.
Keplingers künstliche Muskeln basieren auf einem Experiment des Physikers James Clerk Maxwell im 19. Jahrhundert. Mithilfe eines elektrischen Magnetfeldes lässt sich Öl in einem Gefäß zwischen zwei Metallplatten bewegen. Strom hat eine mechanische Wirkung, war damals die Erkenntnis. Keplinger hat das auf formflexible Behältnisse wie einfache Gefrierbeutel übertragen, die er mit einer dielektrischen Flüssigkeit füllt. Legt man nun Spannung an einem Teil des Beutels an, bewegt sich die Flüssigkeit in die andere Hälfte des Beutels. Eine Bewegung, die der Kontraktion eines natürlichen Muskels entspricht. Je nach Form des Beutels und der Kombination und Anordnungen der einzelnen HASEL-Pakete, lassen sich unterschiedlichste Muskelaufbauten konstruieren, zum Beispiel ein Elefantenrüssel.

Am Else Kröner-Fresenius-Zentrum für Digitale Gesundheit (EKFZ) der TU Dresden wird Christoph Keplinger als Humboldt-Professor für Softrobotik an der Schnittstelle zwischen Medizin und Hochtechnologie arbeiten. Die Technische Universität Dresden hat in den letzten Jahren den Forschungsschwerpunkt „Digitale Gesundheit“ aufgebaut. Von Christoph Keplingers bahnbrechenden Erfindungen ist anzunehmen, dass sie in Zukunft nicht nur das Feld der Softrobotik revolutionieren. Die HASEL-Antriebe könnten schon bald in medizinischen Prothesen zur Anwendung kommen.

Christoph Keplinger wurde für die Humboldt-Professur ausgewählt und ist derzeit in Berufungsverhandlungen mit der deutschen Universität, die ihn für den Preis nominiert hat. Werden diese erfolgreich abgeschlossen, wird der Preis 2021 verliehen.

Nominierende Universität: Technische Universität Dresden

Dr. Christoph Keplinger

wurde in Österreich geboren. Er studierte zunächst Physik in Linz, Österreich, wo er auch promoviert wurde. Als Postdoktorand war er dreieinhalb Jahre an der Harvard University, USA, in zwei renommierten Arbeitsgruppen auf dem Gebiet der Chemie und der Mechanik tätig. Seit August 2015 ist Keplinger Assistant Professor an der University of Colorado Boulder, USA, wo er mit seiner Forschungsgruppe den HASEL-Antrieb entwickelt und zur technologischen Anwendung gebracht hat. 2017 erhielt Keplinger das renommierte Packard Fellowship for Science and Engineering.