Oskar Hallatschek

Biophysics

Microbiomes, such as the symbiotic community of bacteria and other microorganisms in the human gut, play an important role in metabolic processes, for example, but also in resisting pathogens. Understanding how microorganisms develop and are changed by mutation is therefore one of the crucial preconditions for developing applications based on these insights. At the intersection of biophysics, mathematics and medicine, Oskar Hallatschek produces pathbreaking insights into evolutionary dynamics using both mathematical and theoretical models as well as experiments. His work, which utilises methods originating from physics, explains how populations partly develop as a result of just a few, randomly widespread mutations and how new genetic characteristics can quickly assert themselves, bypassing lengthy evolutionary selection processes. The objective is to elaborate reliable prognoses about changes, particularly in fast-growing populations. His current research on the genetic impacts of spread on organisms during epidemics is highly relevant to the Corona pandemic.

At the University of Leipzig, Hallatschek is set to drive development in the interdisciplinary research hub for quantitative eco-evolutionary research and complement it with his expertise in the biological physics of soft materials.

Oskar Hallatschek has been selected for the Humboldt Professorship and will now embark on appointment negotiations with the German university that nominated him. If the negotiations succeed, the award will be conferred in 2021.

Nominating University: University of Leipzig

Prof. Dr. Oskar Hallatschek

was born in Germany. After finishing university in Heidelberg and Zurich and taking his doctorate in Berlin, he worked as a postdoc in Berlin, Leipzig and Harvard, United States. He subsequently became head of the Max Planck Research Group on “Biological physics and evolutionary dynamics” in Göttingen. Since 2013 he has been working in the Department of Physics at the University of California in Berkeley, United States, initially as an assistant professor and later as an associate professor. The honours he has received include an NSF Career Award; he is a member of both the American and German Physical Societies as well as the Society for Molecular Biology and Evolution.

Oskar Hallatschek

Biophysik

Mikrobiome, etwa die Lebensgemeinschaft von Bakterien und anderen Mikroorganismen im menschlichen Darm, spielen eine wichtige Rolle, beispielsweise für den Stoffwechsel, aber auch bei der Abwehr von Krankheitserregern. Zu verstehen wie sich diese Mikroorganismen entwickeln und durch Mutationen verändern, gehört deshalb zu den wichtigsten Voraussetzungen, um später Anwendungen aus diesen Erkenntnissen entwickeln zu können. An der Schnittstelle zwischen Biophysik, Mathematik und Medizin liefert Oskar Hallatschek mit seinen mathematischen und theoretischen Modellen, aber auch mit Experimenten wegweisende Erkenntnisse zur evolutionären Dynamik. Mit seinen Arbeiten erklärt er mit ursprünglich in der Physik entwickelten Methoden, wie sich Populationen teilweise durch wenige, aber zufällig stark verbreitete Mutationen entwickeln und wie sich neue genetische Eigenschaften rasch und ohne eine längere evolutionäre Auslese durchsetzen können. Das Ziel sind verlässliche Prognosen für Veränderungen insbesondere in schnell wachsenden Populationen. Aktuell ist seine Forschung zu genetischen Ausbreitungseffekten von Organismen bei Epidemien in der Corona-Pandemie von höchster Relevanz.

An der Universität Leipzig soll Hallatschek helfen, den interdisziplinären Forschungsstandort für quantitative öko-evolutionäre Forschungsinhalte weiterzuentwickeln und mit seiner Kompetenz im Bereich Biologischer Physik der weichen Materie zu ergänzen.

Oskar Hallatschek wurde für die Humboldt-Professur ausgewählt und ist derzeit in Berufungsverhandlungen mit der deutschen Universität, die ihn für den Preis nominiert hat. Werden diese erfolgreich abgeschlossen, wird der Preis 2021 verliehen.

Nominierende Universität: Universität Leipzig

Prof. Dr. Oskar Hallatschek

wurde in Deutschland geboren. An das Studium in Heidelberg und Zürich und die Promotion in Berlin schlossen sich Stationen als Postdoktorand in Berlin, Leipzig und Harvard, USA, an. Danach leitete er die Max-Planck-Forschungsgruppe „Biologische Physik und Evolutionäre Dynamik“ in Göttingen. Seit 2013 arbeitet er, zunächst als Assistant und zuletzt als Associate Professor, am Department of Physics der University of California, in Berkeley, USA. Er erhielt unter anderem einen NSF Career Award und ist Mitglied der Amerikanischen und Deutschen Physikalischen Gesellschaft sowie der Society for Molecular Biology and Evolution.