Kristian Franze

Physical biology

From the eyes to the brain and all the way down to the toes: our bodies are packed with nerve cells. They decide how we perceive the world and control our responses. But how do nerve cells know in which direction they are supposed to extend and which cells they should connect with? And what can influence or disrupt the functioning of these nerve cells – and thus, in the worst case, trigger disease? This is the field in which Kristian Franze has broken new ground. He has shown that nerve cells are not only crucially influenced by chemical signals, which has long been known, but also by mechanical forces. Tissue stiffness, for example, plays an important role in nerve functioning and development and may, moreover, change after injury. Understanding these processes better could help to stimulate nerve cell growth through previously destroyed tissue and thus, perhaps one day, even lead to therapies for paraplegia.
Kristian Franze is an eminent scientist who investigates the impact of the mechanical environment on the nervous system; he has had a seminal influence on this growing research field. At FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg he is now expected to introduce physical concepts into medical research, creating a unique interdisciplinary centre combining both research fields. As a Humboldt Professor, Franze will become the Director of the Institute for Medical Physics and Micro Tissue Technology. He will also join the executive board of the Max-Planck-Zentrum für Physik und Medizin (MPZPM), a joint institute founded by FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg, the Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light and the Universitätsklinikum Erlangen.

Kristian Franze has been selected for the Humboldt Professorship and will now embark on appointment negotiations with the German university that nominated him. If the negotiations succeed, the award will be conferred in May 2020.

Nominating University: FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg

Dr. Kristian Franze

Born in Germany, Kristian Franze has been a reader at the University of Cambridge, United Kingdom, since 2017. After graduating in veterinary medicine at the University of Leipzig, where he completed a doctorate in the Department of Physics in 2007, a Humboldt Foundation Feodor Lynen Research Fellowship took him to the University of Cambridge as a postdoc. He subsequently worked at the University of Leipzig before relocating to Cambridge in 2011 to continue his academic career as a lecturer. He has received numerous international honours for his research, including an ERC Consolidator Grant in 2018.

Kristian Franze

Physikalische Biologie

Von den Augen über das Gehirn bis hin zu den Zehen: Nervenzellen durchziehen unseren Körper. Sie entscheiden darüber, wie wir die Welt wahrnehmen und steuern unsere Reaktionen. Doch woher wissen Nervenzellen, wohin sie wachsen, und mit welchen Zellen sie sich verbinden sollen? Und was kann die Funktion dieser Nervenzellen beeinflussen oder stören – und so im schlimmsten Fall zu Krankheiten führen? Das untersucht Kristian Franze mit bahnbrechenden Erfolgen. Er konnte zeigen, dass nicht nur, wie lange bekannt, chemische Signale, sondern auch mechanische Kräfte Nervenzellen entscheidend beeinflussen. So spielt die Steifheit des Gewebes eine wichtige Rolle für die Funktion von Nerven und ihre Entwicklung und kann sich zudem nach Verletzungen ändern. Ein besseres Verständnis dieser Prozesse könnte helfen, Nervenzellwachstum durch bereits zerstörtes Gewebe anzuregen und so vielleicht eines Tages dazu beitragen, Querschnittslähmungen zu behandeln.
Kristian Franze ist einer der führenden Wissenschaftler, der die Bedeutung der Mechanik für das Nervensystem untersucht und dieses wachsende Forschungsfeld entscheidend geprägt hat. An der FAU soll Kristian Franze nun Konzepte aus der Physik in die medizinische Forschung einbringen. So soll ein weltweit einzigartiges Zentrum entstehen, das beide Forschungsbereiche interdisziplinär verbindet. Franze wird als Humboldt-Professor Direktor des Instituts für Medizinische Physik und Mikrogewebetechnik. Gleichzeitig wird er dem Leitungsgremium am „Max-Planck-Zentrum für Physik und Medizin“ angehören, das die FAU gemeinsam mit dem Max-Planck-Institut für die Physik des Lichts und dem Universitätsklinikum Erlangen gegründet hat.

Kristian Franze wurde für die Humboldt-Professur ausgewählt und ist derzeit in Berufungsverhandlungen mit der deutschen Universität, die ihn für den Preis nominiert hat. Werden diese erfolgreich abgeschlossen, wird der Preis im Mai 2020 verliehen.

Nominierende Universität: Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU)

Dr. Kristian Franze

in Deutschland geboren, ist seit 2017 als Reader an der University of Cambridge im Vereinigten Königreich tätig. Nach seinem abgeschlossenen Studium der Tiermedizin an der Universität Leipzig, wo er 2007 im Fachbereich Physik promoviert wurde, ging er mit einem Feodor Lynen-Forschungsstipendium der Humboldt-Stiftung als Postdoc an die University of Cambridge. Im Anschluss arbeitete er an der Universität Leipzig, bevor er seine akademische Laufbahn 2011 als Lecturer in Cambridge fortsetzte. Für seine Forschung wurde er mehrfach international ausgezeichnet, unter anderem 2018 mit einem ERC Consolidator Grant.