Enrique Zuazua

Applied Mathematics

The world can be understood as an accumulation of “shapes in motion”. And Enrique Zuazua wants to contribute to the development of new mathematics to better understand the sophisticated dynamics of Nature, simulate them better with the aid of modern computers, and, as far as possible, to design, control and guide them. And for this to be done new mathematical methods are needed to, on one hand, anticipate and predict and, on the other, build optimal strategies. The Spanish academic is a world leader in the field of Applied Mathematics with a particular interest in partial differential equations, control theory and numerical analysis. These mathematical fields seek, for example, to improve the modelling, simulation and control of processes deriving from the engineering sciences in many forward-thinking areas such as aviation, power networks, or social behaviour. For predicting natural phenomena, like tidal waves, which is becoming ever more important in the face of climate change, the quality of mathematical models and the available images, measurements and data in Enrique Zuazua’s research field is also crucial.
As a Humboldt Professor at FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg, Enrique Zuazua will assume the chair in “Applied Mathematics”. The chair is designed to build a bridge between theory and practice and thus drive forward innovative, interdisciplinary research projects.

Enrique Zuazua has been selected for the Humboldt Professorship and will now embark on appointment negotiations with the German university that nominated him. If the negotiations succeed, the award will be conferred in May 2019.

Nominating University: FAU Erlangen-Nuremberg

Prof. Dr. Enrique Zuazua

was born in Spain. He is the Director of the Chair of Computational Mathematics at the University of Deusto, Bilbao, and Professor of Applied Mathematics at the Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain. Prior to this, he worked at various research institutes in Spain after completing his doctorate in Spain and France. He is also the founding director of the Basque Centre for Applied Mathematics in Bilbao, which was established in 2008. He has received numerous honours and awards including two ERC Advanced Grants, the Humboldt Research Award, the Spanish Premio Nacional de Investigación Julio Rey Pastor and an honorary doctorate from the Université de Lorraine, France.

Enrique Zuazua

Angewandte Mathematik

Die Welt kann als eine Ansammlung von “Formen in Bewegung” verstanden werden. Enrique Zuazua möchte zur Entwicklung einer neuen Mathematik beitragen, um die komplexe Dynamik der Natur besser zu verstehen, sie mithilfe moderner Computer simulieren und nach Möglichkeit gestalten, steuern und leiten zu können. Dafür bedarf es neuer mathematischer Methoden: für die Vorhersage und Prognose auf der einen Seite und für die Entwicklung optimaler Strategien auf der anderen Seite. Der Spanier ist einer der international führenden Köpfe im Bereich der Angewandten Mathematik. Er beschäftigt sich unter anderem mit partiellen Differentialgleichungen, Kontrolltheorie und Numerik. Diese Felder der Mathematik zielen zum Beispiel darauf ab, Prozesse, die sich aus den Ingenieurwissenschaften ergeben, besser modellieren und simulieren zu können – in vielen besonders zukunftsträchtigen Bereichen wie Luftfahrt, Stromnetzen oder sozialem Verhalten. Auch für die angesichts des Klimawandels immer wichtigere Vorhersage von Naturphänomenen wie Flutwellen, sind die Qualität mathematischer Modelle sowie die zur Verfügung stehenden Bilder, Messwerte und Daten aus dem Forschungsfeld von Zuazua entscheidend.
Als Humboldt-Professor an der Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg wird Enrique Zuazua den Lehrstuhl für Angewandte Mathematik übernehmen. Der Lehrstuhl soll eine Brücke zwischen Theorie und Praxis schlagen und so innovative und interdisziplinäre Forschungsprojekte vorantreiben.

Enrique Zuazua wurde für die Humboldt-Professur ausgewählt und ist derzeit in Berufungsverhandlungen mit der deutschen Universität, die ihn für den Preis nominiert hat. Werden diese erfolgreich abgeschlossen, wird der Preis im Mai 2019 verliehen.

Nominierende Universität: Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg

Prof. Dr. Enrique Zuazua

wurde in Spanien geboren und ist Leiter des Lehrstuhls für Computermathematik an der Universidad de Deusto in Bilbao sowie Professor für Angewandte Mathematik an der Universidad Autónoma in Madrid, Spanien. Zuvor war er, nach seinem Promotionsstudium in Spanien und Frankreich, an verschiedenen Forschungseinrichtungen in Spanien tätig. Zuazua ist außerdem Gründungsdirektor des 2008 eingerichteten Basque Centre for Applied Mathematics in Bilbao. Er erhielt zahlreiche Ehrungen und Preise, darunter zwei ERC Advanced Grants, den Humboldt-Forschungspreis sowie den nationalen Forschungspreis des spanischen Wissenschaftsministeriums „Julio Rey Pastor“ und die Ehrendoktorwürde der Université de Lorraine, Frankreich.