Henning Walczak

Biochemistry / Immunology

In a human adult, billions of cells kill themselves off every day. Programmed cell death is a self-protective mechanism: it is triggered, for example, when cells are irreparably damaged. Normally, the body then produces new cells so that there is a balance between cell death and cell propagation. Disturbances in these mechanisms are thought to be a crucial factor in the development of cancer and autoimmune diseases. This is where the research of biochemist and cancer researcher Henning Walczak comes in. Amongst other things, he has demonstrated the role of various proteins as receptors in controlling cell death. Insights of this kind lay the foundations for new approaches to therapy: if it is possible to specifically activate the suicide programme, known as apoptosis, cancer cells will, for example, kill themselves off without damaging the surrounding cells. The precise molecular reasons for these effects are, however, still the subject of research – in some cases, they can also work the other way around and cause the cancer to spread. If appointed to the role as Humboldt Professor at the University of Cologne, Henning Walczak would pursue the “from bench to bedside” approach to amalgamate pre-clinical and clinical research to a greater extent. His move to Cologne would also help expand interdisciplinary metabolism research there.

Henning Walczak has been selected for the Humboldt Professorship and will now embark on appointment negotiations with the German university that nominated him. If the negotiations succeed, the award will be conferred in May 2019.

Nominating University: University of Cologne

Prof. Dr. Henning Walczak

Born in Germany, Henning Walczak is Professor of Cancer Biology at University College London (UCL), United Kingdom, and Scientific Director of the Cancer Research UK-UCL Centre. He previously conducted research at the German Cancer Research Center in Heidelberg and also worked for the biotech company Immunex Corportation in Seattle, United States. Together with the Heidelberg immune geneticist Peter Krammer he founded the biotech firm Apogenix, which he still advises. In 2007, Walczak transferred to London, initially to Imperial College and then to UCL. He has received numerous major awards, including an ERC Advanced Grant and the Wellcome Trust Senior Investigator Award.

Henning Walczak

Biochemie / Immunologie

Milliarden Zellen töten sich bei einem Erwachsenen täglich selbst ab. Der programmierte Zelltod ist ein Selbstschutzmechanismus: Zum Beispiel setzt er ein, wenn Zellen irreparabel beschädigt sind. Im Normalfall produziert der Körper neue Zellen nach, so dass Zelltod und -vermehrung im Gleichgewicht sind. Störungen dieser Mechanismen gelten als entscheidende Faktoren bei der Entstehung von Krebs- und Autoimmunerkrankungen. Hier setzt die Forschung des Biochemikers und Krebsforschers Henning Walczak an, der unter anderem die Rolle verschiedener Proteine als Rezeptoren bei der Steuerung des Zelltodes nachweisen konnte. Solche Erkenntnisse gelten als Grundlage neuer Therapieansätze: Gelingt es, das Suizidprogramm, die sogenannte Apoptose, gezielt zu aktivieren, töten sich Krebszellen beispielsweise selbst ab, ohne dabei umliegende Zellen zu schädigen. Zugleich sind die genauen molekularen Hintergründe dieser Effekte noch Gegenstand der Forschung – in manchen Fällen können sie auch umgekehrt wirken und zur Ausbreitung der Krebserkrankung führen. Gelingt die Berufung als Humboldt-Professor an die Universität zu Köln, so soll Henning Walczak nach dem „from bench to bedside“-Ansatz (vom Labor zum Krankenbett) insbesondere die vorklinische und die klinische Forschung stärker zusammenführen. Mit seinem Wechsel nach Köln würde zudem die interdisziplinäre Metabolismusforschung dort ausgebaut werden.

Henning Walczak wurde für die Humboldt-Professur ausgewählt und ist derzeit in Berufungsverhandlungen mit der deutschen Universität, die ihn für den Preis nominiert hat. Werden diese erfolgreich abgeschlossen, wird der Preis im Mai 2019 verliehen.

Nominierende Universität: Universität zu Köln

Prof. Dr. Henning Walczak

wurde in Deutschland geboren. Er ist Professor für Krebsbiologie am University College London (UCL), Vereinigtes Königreich, und Scientific Director des Cancer Research UK-UCL Centre. Zuvor forschte er am Deutschen Krebsforschungszentrum in Heidelberg, und war bei dem Biotech-Unternehmen Immunex Corporation in Seattle, USA, tätig. Er gründete gemeinsam mit dem Heidelberger Immungenetiker Peter Krammer die Biotech-Firma Apogenix, die er bis heute berät. 2007 wechselte Walczak zunächst an das Imperial College nach London, anschließend an das UCL. Er erhielt zahlreiche bedeutende Auszeichnungen, darunter ein ERC Advanced Grant und der Wellcome Trust Senior Investigator Award.