Stefanie Petermichl

Mathematics

Stefanie Petermichl is one of the leading researchers in the field of harmonic analysis, a branch of mathematics with wide-ranging application potential. Harmonic analysis, for example, can help to improve medical imaging procedures and is used in signal processing and material sciences. Stefanie Petermichl is renowned particularly for her ability to link harmonic analysis to other mathematical fields of study like probability theory. In the last few years, her unusual ideas have made their mark on the research field: some of the methods she has developed have become standard tools which have paved the way for crucial progress in harmonic analysis. Petermichl’s work is also characterised by particular depth of content. Under her leadership as a Humboldt Professor, an interdisciplinary mathematics research centre is to be established at JMU Würzburg. A junior research group on harmonic analysis is also planned where young, international researchers will be specially promoted.

Stefanie Petermichl has been selected for the Humboldt Professorship and will now embark on appointment negotiations with the German university that nominated her. If the negotiations succeed, the award will be conferred in May 2019.

Nominating University: JMU Würzburg

Prof. Dr. Stefanie Petermichl

Born in Germany, Stefanie Petermichl is a professor at the Mathematics Insitute of the Université Toulouse III – Paul Sabatier in France where she previously worked at the Université de Bordeaux until 2009. Prior to this, she spent time in the United States, amongst others at the University of Texas at Austin from 2005 to 2007 and Brown University in Providence from 2002 to 2005. She has received many honours for her research such as an ERC Consolidator Grant from the European Research Council and the Prix Ernest Déchelle from the French Académie des Sciences; she was the first woman to be awarded the Prix Salem by the Société Mathématique de France. Stefanie Petermichl has also been elected a member of the Institut Universitaire de France, a state organisation promoting top-level research and interdisciplinary cooperation.

Stefanie Petermichl

Mathematik

Stefanie Petermichl ist eine der führenden Forscherinnen auf dem Gebiet der harmonischen Analysis, einem Teilbereich der Mathematik mit breiten Anwendungsmöglichkeiten. So kann die harmonische Analysis helfen, medizinische Bildgebungsverfahren zu verbessern und wird in der Signalverarbeitung und den Materialwissenschaften genutzt. Stefanie Petermichl ist besonders für ihre Fähigkeit bekannt, die harmonische Analysis mit anderen mathematischen Fachrichtungen wie der Wahrscheinlichkeitstheorie zu verknüpfen. Mit außergewöhnlichen Ideen hat sie in den letzten Jahren das Forschungsfeld geprägt: So sind einige von ihr entwickelte Methoden inzwischen zu Standardwerkzeugen geworden, die entscheidende Fortschritte auf den Bereich der harmonischen Analysis erst ermöglicht haben. Zudem zeichnet sich Petermichls Arbeit durch besondere inhaltliche Tiefe aus. Als Humboldt-Professorin an der Julius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg soll unter der Leitung von Stefanie Petermichl ein interdisziplinäres Forschungszentrum für Mathematik errichtet werden. Auch eine Nachwuchsforschergruppe zu harmonischer Analysis soll entstehen und internationale junge Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler besonders fördern.

Stefanie Petermichl wurde für die Humboldt-Professur ausgewählt und ist derzeit in Berufungsverhandlungen mit der deutschen Universität, die sie für den Preis nominiert hat. Werden diese erfolgreich abgeschlossen, wird der Preis im Mai 2019 verliehen.

Nominierende Universität: Julius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg

Prof. Dr. Stefanie Petermichl

wurde in Deutschland geboren. Sie ist Professorin am Mathematischen Institut der Université Toulouse III – Paul Sabatier in Frankreich, zuvor arbeitete sie bis 2009 an der Université de Bordeaux. In den USA war sie unter anderem von 2005 bis 2007 an der University of Texas at Austin und von 2002 bis 2005 an der Brown University in Providence tätig. Für ihre Forschungen wurde sie mehrfach ausgezeichnet: Sie erhielt einen ERC Consolidator Grant des Europäischen Forschungsrats, den Prix Ernest Déchelle der französischen Académie des sciences und als erste Frau den Prix Salem der Société Mathématique de France. Zudem wurde sie als Mitglied in das Institut Universitaire de France, einer staatlichen Einrichtung zur Förderung der Spitzenforschung und interdisziplinären Zusammenarbeit, gewählt.