Creative duo: philosophy and mathematics

Hannes Leitgeb’s research brings together two disciplines which initially seem worlds apart: philosophy and mathematics. Having taken a doctorate in both, the Austrian academic then dedicated himself to philosophy without ever quite forsaking mathematics. Recognised internationally as an eminent researcher, he is now at LMU München establishing the world’s only research centre for mathematical philosophy, with the aim of formulating philosophical questions as precise mathematical problems and applying different disciplines to find the answers.

In modern science, mathematics comes into its own as a lingua franca: a language every discipline can and must use when theories get more complex. It is also the tool that sets the tone in Hannes Leitgeb’s new Munich Centre for Mathematical Philosophy – Language and Cognition. “Just like scientists, we use the methods of logic and mathematics and apply them to all the fields of philosophy. But we don’t reduce philosophy to mathematics on the way,” emphasises Leitgeb. Research still focuses on the traditional philosophical questions such as “What is truth?” and “How should man behave?”

“We mathematical philosophers address the classic questions rather like natural scientists describing a phenomenon,” explains the researcher. Mathematics helps philosophers to draw inferences from their premises. Leitgeb expects this approach to produce clarity: “Mathematics is great for elucidating structures.” Some of the classic questions can be made much more precise or actually answered with the help of mathematical proofs or models. Effectively, philosophical arguments are put under the microscope. In the best case, this reveals exactly what it is that a certain argument states. It might, for example, emerge that the argument is inconsistent, which could not be determined before. Such ‘stripping down’ to the basic formal structure opens up unexpected paths. “In this way, mathematics can lead to the formulation of new, more precise philosophical questions which take us further,” Leitgeb explains.

Much of what goes on in terms of methodology at the Munich Centre has been shaped by logical empiricism. In the orbit of Rudolf Carnap, one of Leitgeb’s role models, this revolutionised philosophy in the 1920s. Logic has developed enormously since then, and other mathematical theories have emerged, too. For example, probability calculus is used in epistemology; graph theory in metaphysics. Leitgeb thinks mathematics will become the most important tool in philosophy. Thus it is very important to him to introduce first-semester students to the fundamentals of logic himself.

A bridge to neuroscience

At the intersection between philosophy and neuroscience the philosopher/mathematician has also forged new paths – in Munich he wants to initiate interdisciplinary projects in this area. Leitgeb is particularly involved in investigating neural networks – both natural, like the brain, and artificial. Brain researchers try to determine empirically which of the brain’s physicochemical processes relate to which intellectual abilities, like recognising faces. “As a philosopher I ask myself why it is these particular relationships that exist and not others. And how we should formulate the scientific theory,” explains Leitgeb.

One of his results is that neural networks draw inferences of the “if A, then B” variety. The philosopher gives an example: “If Oswald did not kill President John F. Kennedy, then it was someone else.” This sentence is valid with a high degree of certainty, but not so the sentence: “If Oswald had not killed Kennedy someone else would have done it.” It is in the nature of if-when sentences that the factor experience determines whether they are accepted or not. The conditions, under which a neural network identifies a sentence like this as logical, are defined. From this Leitgeb has derived rules. “My results are of interest to computer scientists as well. They no longer have to think of an artificial neural network as an impenetrable box inexplicably producing certain outputs from inputs.”

Leitgeb plans to cooperate with brain researchers from the Munich Centre for Neurosciences – Brain and Mind on questions like ‘How do people learn?’ As a basis for neuroscientific experiments he wants to draw up theories which justify the process of learning from a philosophical/rational point of view. However, if the results of the neuroscientists’ experiments reveal that learning functions differently, the philosopher would have to re-examine his assumptions. “An exciting project for both sides which is bound to be productive,” says the researcher.

Mathematics and philosophy – this combination attracts a lot of outstanding young academics to the centre in Munich. “We have enormous drawing power for junior researchers from all over the world,” Leitgeb claims. Thanks to his own excellent connections and international reputation, the Humboldt Professor has been able to initiate numerous collaborations with important partners in the United States, England, the Netherlands and France. He himself is convinced: “We want to play in the premier league.”

Kreatives Duo: Philosophie und Mathematik

Hannes Leitgeb bringt in seiner Forschung zwei Disziplinen zusammen, die zunächst weit voneinander entfernt zu liegen scheinen: Mathematik und Philosophie. In beiden Fächern promoviert, hat sich der Österreicher der Philosophie verschrieben, ohne die Mathematik je aufzugeben. Nun baut der international angesehene Wissenschaftler an der LMU München das weltweit einzige Forschungszentrum für mathematische Philosophie auf – mit dem Ziel, philosophische Fragen als präzise mathematische Probleme zu formulieren und fächerübergreifend zu beantworten.

In der modernen Wissenschaft beweist die Mathematik ihre Stärke als Lingua franca: eine Sprache, derer sich alle Fächer bedienen können und müssen, wenn die Theorien komplexer werden. Als Instrument gibt sie auch den Ton an in Leitgebs neuem Munich Center for Mathematical Philosophy – Language and Cognition. „Wir nutzen ähnlich wie die Naturwissenschaftler logisch-mathematische Methoden und wenden diese auf alle Gebiete der Philosophie an. Doch wir reduzieren die Philosophie dabei nicht auf die Mathematik“, betont Leitgeb. Im Mittelpunkt der Forschung stehen nach wie vor die traditionellen philosophischen Fragen wie „Was ist Wahrheit?“ oder „Wie handelt man richtig?“.

„Wir mathematischen Philosophen nähern uns den klassischen Fragen so an, wie es Naturwissenschaftler tun, wenn sie ein Phänomen beschreiben wollen“, erläutert der Forscher. Die Mathematik unterstützt Philosophen dabei, aus ihren Annahmen Schlussfolgerungen zu ziehen. Von dieser Herangehensweise erwartet Leitgeb Klarheit: „Die Mathematik ist großartig, um Strukturen transparent zu machen.“ Einige der klassischen Fragen können schärfer erfasst oder mithilfe mathematischer Beweise oder Modelle beantwortet werden. Philosophische Thesen kommen quasi auf den Prüfstand. Im Idealfall wird sichtbar, was eine bestimmte These wirklich aussagt. Es kann zum Beispiel herauskommen, dass die These widersprüchlich ist, was vorher nicht erkennbar war. Diese „Entkleidung“ bis auf die zugrunde liegende formale Struktur öffnet unerwartete Wege. „Somit kann die Mathematik zu neuen, deutlicheren philosophischen Fragen führen, die uns weiterbringen“, sagt der Wissenschaftler.

Vieles im Münchener Zentrum ist methodologisch geprägt vom logischen Empirismus, mit dem Wissenschaftler um Rudolf Carnap in den 1920er Jahren die Philosophie revolutionierten – Wissenschaftler, die Leitgeb als seine Vorbilder sieht. Seitdem hat sich die Logik enorm weiterentwickelt. Andere mathematische Theorien sind hinzugekommen. Beispielsweise wird die Wahrscheinlichkeitsrechnung in der Erkenntnistheorie verwendet, die Graphentheorie in der Metaphysik. Leitgeb hält die Mathematik für das künftig wichtigste Werkzeug in der Philosophie. So ist es ihm ein großes Anliegen, Studienanfänger selbst in die Grundlagen der Logik einzuführen.

Brücke zu den Neurowissenschaften

Neue Wege hat der Philosoph und Mathematiker auch im Grenzbereich von Philosophie und Neurowissenschaften beschritten – in München will er dazu fächerübergreifende Projekte anstoßen. Leitgeb beschäftigt sich intensiv mit neuronalen Netzen – mit natürlichen wie dem Gehirn sowie mit künstlichen. Hirnforscher versuchen empirisch zu klären, welche chemisch-physikalischen Funktionsweisen des Gehirns mit welchen geistigen Fähigkeiten wie etwa der Erkennung von Gesichtern in Zusammenhang stehen. „Als Philosoph frage ich: Warum bestehen genau diese Zusammenhänge und keine anderen? Wie muss die wissenschaftliche Theorie aussehen?“, erklärt Leitgeb.

Eines seiner Ergebnisse: Neuronale Netze treffen Schlussfolgerungen der Art „Wenn A, dann B“. Der Philosoph nennt ein Beispiel: „Wenn Oswald den US-Präsidenten John F. Kennedy nicht ermordet hat, dann war es jemand anderes.“ Dieser Satz kann mit großer Sicherheit gelten, nicht hingegen der Satz: „Wenn Oswald Kennedy nicht ermordet hätte, dann hätte es ein anderer getan.“ Wenn-dann-Sätze haben es in sich, bei der Akzeptanz spielen auch Erfahrungen eine Rolle. Die Bedingungen, unter denen ein neuronales Netz einen solchen Satz als logisch erkennt, sind definiert. Leitgeb hat daraus Regeln abgeleitet. „Meine Ergebnisse sind auch für Computerwissenschaftler interessant. Sie müssen ein künstliches neuronales Netz nicht länger als undurchschaubaren Kasten betrachten, von dem man nicht weiß, wie er aus Inputs bestimmte Outputs hervorbringt.“

Gemeinsame Arbeiten plant Leitgeb mit Hirnforschern vom Munich Center for Neurosciences – Brain and Mind etwa zur Frage „Wie lernt der Mensch?“. Als Grundlage neurowissenschaftlicher Experimente will er Theorien entwickeln, die den Prozess des Lernens unter philosophisch-rationalen Gesichtspunkten rechtfertigen. Sollten die experimentellen Ergebnisse der Neurowissenschaftler jedoch zeigen, dass das Lernen anders funktioniert, dann müsste der Philosoph seine Annahmen überprüfen. „Für beide Seiten ein spannendes Vorhaben, bei dem sicherlich Fruchtbares herauskommen wird“, so der Wissenschaftler.

Mathematik und Philosophie – diese Kombination zieht viele herausragende junge Wissenschaftler ans Münchener Zentrum. „Wir sind hochattraktiv für den Nachwuchs weltweit“, stellt Leitgeb fest. Hervorragend vernetzt und international begehrt, hat der Humboldt-Professor zahlreiche Kooperationen mit wichtigen Partnern in den USA, England, den Niederlanden und Frankreich auf den Weg gebracht. Denn für den Philosophen ist eines klar: „Wir wollen in der Topliga mitspielen.“