Hot on the trail of language processing

Text: Trio MedienService Bonn

Getting at the very core of language and understanding how people process it – this is what fascinates Harald Clahsen. And the core is grammar, the system of rules that constitutes our communication and differentiates us from all other species. Psycholinguist Harald Clahsen has made an international name for himself researching into language acquisition and language processing. He combines various methods to track down a competence that is both shaping our world and challenging society: multilingualism.

Centres of research into multilingualism can be found in Canada, the United States, the United Kingdom, Australia and Switzerland – the places where people have always spoken a lot of different languages. In Germany, by contrast, multilingualism is far from being taken for granted by society or academia, even though it has long become a fact of life at German schools and kindergartens. “Taking a global view, monolingual individuals tend to be the exception nowadays; the rule is that people speak two languages or more,” says Harald Clahsen. Together with his wife, linguist Claudia Felser, he is about to establish the new Potsdam Research Institute of Multilingualism at the University of Potsdam, closing a gap in German research. Harald Clahsen is the first Humboldt Professor to work in one of the new Federal States. “The location is ideal: Berlin, with its multilingual environment and resulting need for research and consultancy, is right on the doorstep,” he explains.

Monitoring multilingualism

Harald Clahsen and his team want to investigate the representation and effects of multilingualism in the human brain, and for this he uses various methods. He is less interested in the ‘where’ than in the ‘how’. “I’d like to observe people processing language while it is actually taking place.” This is why the top researcher prefers electroencephalography (EEG) to imaging procedures which usually involve a time lag of one or two seconds in producing pictures of active areas of the brain.

EEG is an established neurological method that measures variations in the elec-trical signals on the scalp and records them on an encephalograph. These variations tell us a lot about physiological processes in brain cells – not least with regard to language processing. “We give probands a number of active and passive sentences. Processing this information only takes milliseconds, and the EEG records the brain waves like a seismograph. One of the results of these measurements is that people have to use more energy for the passive sentence than for the active construction,” the linguist concludes.

EEG will also help him to answer other questions. “I would like to know more about the various aspects of language, such as whether meaning, grammar and phonetic information are processed one after the other or all at the same time.” In Potsdam, Clahsen intends to extend the scope of these experiments to multilingualism. One question will be: Does the processing of linguistic form and meaning function the same way in the second language as it does in the first?

A cocktail of methods for a complex picture

As a professor for the psycholinguistics of multilingualism, Harald Clahsen will investigate two clearly defined linguistic fields: the grammar of words and the grammar of sentences. Words themselves can, after all, be complex: they are composed of several parts and are processed differently. For this purpose, Clahsen and his team will amalgamate several methods – a promising undertaking. “I combine behavioural tests, which we use for determining reaction time for certain tasks, with eye movement experiments and EEG measurements to get as complex a picture as possible,” he says, explaining his approach which fuses linguistic theory with psycholinguistic and neurolinguistic aspects.

The Humboldt Professor wants to discover which words people find difficult to process and which tend to be easy. So far, he has conducted his tests with monolingual individuals or those who only learned a foreign language at a later stage. In Potsdam, it will be bilingual children sitting in front of the screen. When it comes to testing younger children and comparing them with other age groups, letters do not sufice. “If probands can’t read yet, they are played sentences and shown images at the same time. We can observe where they look first when they hear a reflexive sentence, for example, and can infer whether they have understood it correctly.” Here, too, the Humboldt Professor focuses on the processing of grammatically structures.

Language consultancy

Harald Clahsen will combine this basic research at the Potsdam multilingualism centre with practical consul-tancy for three speci餀 c target groups: parents who are bringing up their children bilingually, teachers of foreign languages and teachers who work together with multilingual children. “Deficits in German are often classified as a language disorder, and children are taken out of mainstream schooling,” Harald Clahsen reports. He would like to draw up criteria so that prac-titioners can use mistakes to determine whether they are actually dealing with a language disorder.

Clahsen is enthusiastic about his research field of language: “With a reasonable quantity of rules and our vocabulary we can make an infinite number of combinations and express what we want. This is a seminal aspect of being human.”

Der Sprachverarbeitung auf der Spur

Text: Trio MedienService Bonn

Zum Kern der Sprache vordringen und verstehen, wie jeder Mensch sie verarbeitet – das fasziniert Harald Clahsen. Und der Kern ist die Grammatik: dieses Regelwerk, das unsere Kommunikation ausmacht und uns von allen anderen Arten unterscheidet. Der Psycholinguist Harald Clahsen hat sich mit der Forschung zu Spracherwerb und Sprachverarbeitung international einen Namen gemacht. Er verbindet verschiedene Methoden, um einer Fähigkeit auf die Spur zu kommen, die unsere Welt immer stärker prägt und die Gesellschaft fordert: Mehrsprachigkeit

Forschungszentren zur Mehrsprachigkeit existieren in Kanada, den USA, Großbritannien, Australien und der Schweiz, dort, wo seit jeher viele Sprachen gesprochen werden. In Deutschland hingegen ist Mehrsprachigkeit an deutschen Schulen und Kindergärten zwar längst ein Faktum, gesellschaftlich und wissenschaftlich jedoch noch lange keine Selbstverständlichkeit. „Heutzutage ist das einsprachige Individuum weltweit eher die Ausnahme, normal sind Menschen, die zwei oder mehr Sprachen sprechen“, sagt Harald Clahsen. Er wird gemeinsam mit seiner Frau, der Linguistin Claudia Felser, an der Universität Potsdam das neue Potsdam Research Institute of Multilingualism aufbauen und damit die For-schungslücke in Deutschland schließen. Harald Clahsen ist der erste Humboldt-Professor, der in einem neuen Bundesland arbeiten wird. „Der Standort ist ideal, denn die Nähe zu Berlin bietet ein mehrsprachiges Umfeld mit entsprechendem Forschungs- und Beratungsbedarf“, erläutert er.

Mehrsprachigkeit direkt beobachten

Harald Clahsen erforscht mit seinem Team, wie sich Mehrsprachigkeit im Kopf eines Menschen darstellt und auswirkt. Dazu nutzt er unterschiedliche Metho-den. Ihn interessiert weniger das „Wo“ als das „Wie“. „Ich möchte die Menschen dabei beobachten, wie sie Sprache verarbeiten, und zwar zeitnah.“ Deshalb konzentriert sich der Spitzenforscher nicht so sehr auf bildgebende Verfahren, die meist mit einer Verzögerung von ein bis zwei Sekunden aktive Hirnareale anzeigen, sondern nutzt eher die Elektroenzephalografie (EEG). Mit dieser in der Neurologie gängigen Methode werden Spannungsschwankungen an der Kopfoberfläche aufgezeichnet und in einem Elektroenzephalogramm abgebildet. Die Schwankungen geben Aufschluss über physiologische Vorgänge in den Gehirnzellen – auch bei der Sprachverarbeitung. „Wir präsentieren Probanden eine Reihe von Aktiv- und Passivsätzen. Die Verarbeitung dieser Informationen läuft in Millisekunden ab, und das EEG zeichnet wie ein Seismograf die Hirnströme auf. Ein Ergebnis dieser Messungen: Der Passivsatz kostet Menschen mehr Energie als die aktivische Konstruktion“, so der Linguist.

Das EEG wird ihm weitere Fragen beantworten: „Ich möchte mehr über die verschiedenen Aspekte der Sprache wissen; ob beispielsweise Bedeutung, Grammatik und phonetische Informationen nacheinander oder gleichzeitig verarbeitet werden.“ Diese Experimente will Clahsen in Potsdam auf Mehrsprachigkeit ausweiten. Eine der Fragen: Funktioniert die Verarbeitung von sprachlicher Form und Bedeutung in der Erstsprache genauso wie in der Zweitsprache?

Komplexes Bild dank Methodenmix

Harald Clahsen wird als Professor für Psycholinguistik von Mehrsprachigkeit zwei klar umgrenzte sprachliche Bereiche erforschen: die Grammatik von Wörtern und die Grammatik von Sätzen. Denn auch Wörter können komplex sein, sie bestehen aus mehreren Teilen und werden unterschiedlich verarbeitet. Dabei kombinieren Clahsen und sein Team mehrere Methoden – ein vielversprechendes Unterfangen. „Ich bringe behaviorale Untersuchungen, mit denen wir die Reaktionszeit für bestimmte Aufgaben ermitteln, Blickbewegungsexperimente und EEG-Messungen zusammen, um ein möglichst komplexes Bild zu erhalten“, erläutert er seinen Ansatz, der linguistische Theorie, psycholinguistische und neurolinguistische Aspekte vereint.

Der Humboldt-Professor will herausfinden, welche Wörter für Menschen schwer und welche eher leicht zu verarbeiten sind. Bisher hat er das mit einsprachigen Personen oder solchen, die später eine Fremdsprache gelernt haben, getestet. In Potsdam werden zweisprachige Kinder am Bildschirm sitzen. Um auch junge Kinder testen und mit anderen Altersgruppen vergleichen zu können, reichen Buchstaben nicht aus: „Wenn die Probanden noch nicht lesen können, werden ihnen Sätze vorgespielt und gleichzeitig Bilder gezeigt. Wir beobachten, wohin sie beispielsweise beim Hören eines Reflexivsatzes zuerst schauen, und können daraus schließen, ob sie ihn richtig verstanden haben.“ Auch hier geht es dem Humboldt-Professor um das Verarbeiten grammatisch komplexer Strukturen.

Sprachberatung

Diese Grundlagenforschung verbindet Harald Clahsen im Potsdamer Zentrum für Mehrsprachigkeit mit praktischer Beratung – und zwar für drei Zielgruppen: Eltern, die ihre Kinder zweisprachig erziehen, Lehrer, die Fremdsprachen unterrichten, sowie Lehrer, die mit mehrsprachigen Kindern arbeiten. „Häufig werden Defizite im Deutschen als Sprachbehinderung klassifiziert und die Schüler aus der Regelschule genommen“, berichtet Harald Clahsen. Er möchte Kriterien für Praktiker entwickeln, damit diese anhand der Fehler erkennen, ob es sich tatsächlich um eine Sprachstörung handelt.

Sein Forschungsfeld Sprache beschreibt Clahsen enthusiastisch: „Mit einer überschaubaren Menge von Regeln und unserem Vokabular können wir unendlich kombinieren und ausdrücken, was wir wollen. Das ist ein wesentlicher Aspekt des Menschseins.“