Research for good mental health

Text: Trio MedienService Bonn

Jürgen Margraf is one of the leading German-speaking experts in clinical psychology. The internationally reputed research pioneer into the causes and therapy of depression, panic and anxiety disorders will establish a new mental health research and treatment centre in Bochum.

Anorexic models, depressive football stars and panic-ridden managers: psychological disorders are constantly in the media focus. But does that make them as socially accepted as physical illnesses? Definitely not: “These illnesses are still extremely stigmatised. They’re seen as weaknesses, and those affected are considered ‘not normal’,” concludes Jürgen Margraf as a result of his studies. For over twenty years he has been investigating anxiety disorders and depression, and he knows that almost every second German will suffer some kind of mental illness during their lifetime, to a varying degree of severity. The clinical psychologist is convinced: “It’s not a question of whether we acquire such a disorder, but how we deal with it. Psychological illnesses are one of the major causes of premature death or a severely impaired life. That’s why we have to explain far more about them.”

Jürgen Margraf set new standards in research into anxiety disorders when he discovered a recurring structure of symptoms in panic attacks from which he developed his psycho-physiological model. During such an attack, which usually lasts for about 28 minutes, the person affected first experiences a physical symptom: he or she may break out in sweat or have severe palpitations. Whilst healthy people rationally attribute such phenomena to their present everyday situation, for instance an exam or being in love, a person suffering from panic senses imminent danger. “It’s a question of fear, indeed mortal fear, and this is all that is felt,” explains Margraf. This panic leads to an intensification of the physical symptom or to additional symptoms, such as breathing difficulties. People’s perception is focused exclusively on the potential danger, their assessment of the situation becomes more drastic and the fear increases. Margraf tested this “vicious circle” at Stanford University. When panic patients perceived a faster heartbeat, which the researchers had simulated acoustically, their pulse rate increased and the attack took its course. Nothing happened in the healthy control group.

Who gets ill and who stays healthy?

At Ruhr-Universität Bochum (RUB) Jürgen Margraf now wants to investigate which conditions are responsible for determining whether a person becomes depressive or suffers from panic attacks. “As a therapist I now know how I can help, because we can recognise certain dispositions, such as responses to stress or distressing life events.” But therapists always come too late: “Patients already have a long history of illness before we start treating them. In addition to this, the memory is unreliable: people confuse the order of events and create constructs of reality,” says Margraf. For this reason his research will focus on complex constellations of causes to investigate the interplay of psychological, biological and social factors as well as genetic-environmental interactions. “Until now we have concentrated solely on the effects of the genes on a person’s behaviour. However, the fact that the environment can also influence the gene pool or epigenetic structures has tended to be neglected so far,” the Humboldt Professor explains.

The distinguished research scientist and therapist says the triad in the development of mental illnesses consists of predisposing, triggering and maintaining factors. Health promoting factors have been neglected, yet all human beings have these protective, health promoting factors at their disposal. Until now they have hardly been investigated or adequately defined. “Our way of thinking is absolutely fixated on disease, but we hardly know anything about the protective factors influencing mental health,” declares Margraf. He wants to define mental health in positive terms rather than just differentiating it from illness. Protective factors can include such things as stable social support and robust emotional relationships, which for many people are not necessarily foregone conclusions in an age of rising divorce rates and declining births.

Prevention is the best cure

Together with his wife Silvia Schneider, who has also been appointed as Professor of Child and Adolescent Psychology at Ruhr-Universität, Jürgen Margraf wants to develop a holistic approach at the new Mental Health Research and Treatment Centre. “In the area of prevention the results have not been particularly good so far. Prevention is the test of our theories and is extremely important,” says Margraf. The two scientists will be examining not only adults but also very young children in the context of their whole environment, their genetic predispositions and family factors. Their work will also benefit from RUB’s research network, including collaboration planned with the neuroscientists and some 18 clinics in the region. “At our outpatients department for research and training we treat 300 patients every quarter on the basis of the latest research,” says Margraf. The Humboldt Professor is very enthusiastic about the speed at which scientific results are being translated into therapies at RUB. It is creating the foundations for effective prevention.

Forschung für die psychische Gesundheit

Text: Trio MedienService Bonn

Jürgen Margraf ist einer der bedeutendsten deutschsprachigen Klinischen Psychologen. In Bochum wird der international bekannte Pionier auf dem Gebiet der Ursachenforschung und Therapie von Depressionen, Panik- und Angststörungen ein Forschungs- und Behandlungszentrum für psychische Gesundheit aufbauen.

Magersüchtige Models, depressive Fußballstars und panikgeschüttelte Manager – psychische Störungen sind in allen Medien präsent. Sind sie deshalb gesellschaftlich akzeptiert wie körperliche Erkrankungen? Keineswegs: „Diese Krankheiten sind weiterhin extrem stigmatisiert, sie gelten als Schwäche und Betroffene als ‚nicht normal’“, berichtet Jürgen Margraf aus seiner Arbeit. Er forscht seit mehr als 20 Jahren über Angststörungen und Depressionen und weiß, dass etwa jeder zweite Deutsche einmal im Leben an einer psychischen Störung leiden wird – Ausmaß und Schwere sind dabei sehr unterschiedlich. „Es geht nicht darum, ob man eine solche Störung bekommt, sondern wie man damit umgeht. Psychische Erkrankungen sind eine der wichtigsten Ursachen für vorzeitigen Tod oder ein Leben mit starker Beeinträchtigung. Deshalb müssen wir noch viel mehr aufklären“, ist der Klinische Psychologe überzeugt.

Margraf setzte Maßstäbe in der Angstforschung, als er den immer gleichen Ablauf bei Panikattacken entdeckte und daraus sein psychophysiologisches Modell entwickelte. In den etwa 28 Minuten, die ein solcher Anfall durchschnittlich dauert, spürt der Betroffene zunächst ein körperliches Symptom: Schweißausbruch oder starkes Herzklopfen. Während gesunde Menschen diese Wahrnehmung mit der Alltagssituation, in der sie sich gerade befinden, rational begründen – etwa mit einer Prüfung oder Verliebtsein – , assoziiert der Paniker unmittelbare Gefahr. „Es geht um Angst und zwar um Todesangst – das ist das Einzige, was gespürt wird“, erläutert Margraf. Diese Panik führt dazu, dass sich das körperliche Symptom verstärkt oder weitere Symptome wie Atemnot hinzukommen. Die Wahrnehmung konzentriert sich völlig auf die potenzielle Gefahr, die Bewertung wird drastischer, die Angst größer. An der Stanford University erprobte Margraf diesen Kreislauf. Wenn Panikpatienten einen von den Forschern akustisch simulierten höheren Herzschlag wahrnahmen, beschleunigte sich ihr Puls und die Attacke nahm ihren Lauf – bei der gesunden Kontrollgruppe passierte nichts.

Wer wird krank, wer bleibt gesund?

Jürgen Margraf will nun an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum (RUB) grundlegend erforschen, welche Bedingungen dafür verantwortlich sind, dass ein Mensch depressiv wird oder unter Panikattacken leidet. „Als Therapeut weiß ich inzwischen, wie ich helfen kann, denn einige Dispositionen kennen wir, wie zum Beispiel Stress oder belastende Lebensereignisse.“ Doch Therapeuten kommen immer zu spät: „Der Patient hat bereits eine lange Vorgeschichte hinter sich, wenn wir ihn behandeln. Außerdem ist die Erinnerung unzuverlässig: Menschen bringen Zeitabläufe durcheinander und konstruieren Wirklichkeit“, so Margraf. Deshalb geht es ihm um eine komplexe Ursachenforschung, die das Zusammenspiel von psychologischen, biologischen und sozialen Faktoren ebenso berücksichtigt wie Gen-Umwelt-Interaktionen. „Bisher haben wir ausschließlich von den Genen her auf das Verhalten eines Menschen geschaut. Die Tatsache, dass sich auch die Umwelt auf den Genpool oder die Epigenetik auswirken kann, wurde eher vernachlässigt“, erläutert der Humboldt-Professor.

Der renommierte Forscher und Therapeut benennt den Dreiklang für die Entstehung von psychischen Krankheiten: prädisponierende, auslösende und aufrechterhaltende Faktoren. Vernachlässigt wurden gesundheitsfördernde Faktoren. Doch jeder Mensch hat diese protektiven und salutogenetischen Elemente zur Verfügung. Allerdings wurden sie bislang kaum untersucht und nur unzureichend definiert. „Wir sind sehr pathologisch fixiert, über Schutzfaktoren wissen wir dramatisch wenig“, stellt Margraf fest. Er will psychische Gesundheit positiv definieren und nicht in Abgrenzung zu Krankheit. Schutzfaktoren können beispielsweise stabile soziale Unterstützung und belastbare emotionale Beziehungen sein – in Zeiten hoher Scheidungszahlen und sinkender Geburtenraten für viele Menschen keine Selbstverständlichkeit.

Prävention ist die beste Medizin

Gemeinsam mit seiner Frau Silvia Schneider, die als Professorin für Kinder- und Jugendpsychologie ebenfalls an die Ruhr-Universität berufen wurde, will Jürgen Margraf künftig einen ganzheitlichen Ansatz im neuen Forschungs- und Behandlungszentrum für Psychische Gesundheit entwickeln. „Auf dem Gebiet der Prävention können wir bislang keine guten Ergebnisse vorweisen. Vorbeugung ist der Test für unsere Theorien und extrem wichtig“, so Margraf. Die beiden Wissenschaftler werden sehr junge Kinder ebenso wie Erwachsene auf ihr gesamtes Umfeld, ihre genetischen Prädispositionen und ihre familiären Faktoren untersuchen. Dabei profitieren sie vom Forschungsnetzwerk der RUB: Eine Zusammenarbeit mit den Neurowissenschaftlern und den knapp 18 Kliniken in der Region ist geplant. „In unserer Forschungs- und Ausbildungsambulanz behandeln wir 300 Patienten pro Quartal – und zwar auf dem neuesten Stand der Forschung“, sagt Margraf. Der Humboldt-Professor ist begeistert von der schnellen Umsetzung wissenschaftlicher Ergebnisse in die therapeutische Praxis an der RUB. Sie ist Grundlage für eine wirksame Prävention.