Shaping solutions

Text: Trio MedienService Bonn

Only a handful of scientists around the globe are conversant with the methods that the celebrated mathematician Marc Levine is developing. In Germany he is the only one. The unconventional, cross-disciplinary thinker from the USA has been researching together with other leading scientists at the mathematics think-tank in Essen since July 2009. There he is helping to build up a new research centre and decisively boost networking.

When Marc Levine talks about his work as a mathematician, there is far more to it than just bare figures. Instead, the researcher enthuses about geometrical configurations: circles, ellipses and spheres. The discipline in which Levine is pushing back the boundaries is called “algebraic geometry”.“I look for solutions to mathematical equations by moving in the world of geometric concepts,” says Levine, as he describes his work. He investigates the structural properties of equations by using methods from another area of mathematics: topology. Topology is the study of the properties of spatial configurations. Levine is endeavouring to use the existing, but not manifest connection between algebra and topology, in order to solve algebraic problems. For instance, a spatial configuration in the shape of trousers is created from three circles and an outer sheath. The corresponding drawing is somewhat reminiscent of a sewing pattern. It is connections between geometrical configurations such as these, as well as in higher dimensions than height, width and depth, that fascinate the unconventional mathematician. Levine says geometry is so flexible, that sometimes it helps in finding solutions more easily than by algebraic means.

Between formulas and forms

Mathematicians associate the name of Marc Levine above all with algebraic cobordism. He developed this theory, which combines geometry, topology and algebra, together with the French mathematician Fabien Morel. “We took the geometric-topological descriptions of the mathematician Daniel Quillen, which cannot be directly set down as algebraic equations, and transformed the descriptions so that they could then actually be applied in algebra,” explains Levine. In this way they succeeded in transferring concepts from topology into algebra – for instance, cobordism.

A cobordism is a so-called equivalence relationship, as in the previously mentioned case of the trousers where one circle is combined with two additional circles. With the aid of their theory Levine and Morel were able to derive several mathematical axioms. As yet, there are no foreseeable applications outside of mathematics, according to the Humboldt Professor. But that can change very quickly, as the scientist explains: the so-called K-Theory, an abstract form of linear algebra on which he used to work, now has applications in quantum physics and string theory.

Marc Levine will be one of the heads of the Essen Institute for Algebraic Geometry and Algebra which is being planned as part of the mathematics department at the University of Duisburg-Essen. Currently, he and his colleagues are working together with more than 50 scientists in eight working groups in this central, yet interdisciplinary field of mathematics. This versatile structure is designed to facilitate joint projects within the department as well as with colleagues at other universities. Marc Levine is really enthusiastic about his new job: “At the campus in Essen we’re working on similar questions. We communicate and cooperate openly with one another in numerous personal exchanges. This creates the potential for groundbreaking results.”

The more interesting colleagues are in Germany

Before he came to Essen the American mathematician taught and researched for 26 years at Northeastern University in Boston, Massachusetts. He now plans to turn these contacts into collaborative projects. He greatly enjoyed his first visit to Germany when he came to Bonn, in 1983. “I received a great deal of encouragement for my research,” he recalls. He explains that although there are a lot more mathematicians and jobs in the USA, in his case he has met the more interesting colleagues in Germany and France.

Levine’s ties with his Essen colleague Hélène Esnault are based on many years of friendship and collaboration. Their mutual esteem led to Levine’s many guest visits to Essen during the 1990s. Hélène Esnault is visibly pleased: “In future we’ll be researching together with an internationally acclaimed mathematician who will strengthen our group and promote our work at the same time. The Alexander von Humboldt Professorship not only brought us a leading-edge mathematician but meant that a talented junior researcher decided to come here, too, even though he had many other possibilities in Germany.”

As soon as he arrived in Essen the Humboldt Professor set about networking: the International Conference on Algebraic Geometry and Arithmetic took place there in mid February 2010. It was dedicated to the memory of Professor Eckart Viehweg who died shortly before the event. He had been instrumental in bringing Marc Levine to Essen as a Humboldt Professor in the first place. Together with his colleagues Levine welcomed 150 participants from around the world, and 20 of the most distinguished mathematicians presented their la test research findings.

Die Lösung liegt im Raum

Text: Trio MedienService Bonn

Mit den Methoden, die der renommierte Mathematiker Marc Levine entwickelt, kennen sich weltweit nur eine Handvoll Forscher aus, in Deutschland ist er der Einzige. Der unkonventionelle Denker aus den USA forscht seit Juli 2009 gemeinsam mit anderen Spitzenforschern am Mathematik-Standort Essen. Er wird dort einen neuen Forschungsschwerpunkt aufbauen und die Vernetzung vorantreiben.

Es geht nicht um nackte Zahlen, wenn Marc Levine über seine Arbeit als Mathematiker spricht. Stattdessen erzählt der US-Forscher begeistert von geometrischen Gebilden: von Kreisen, Ellipsen und Kugeln. „Algebraische Geometrie“ heißt das Fachgebiet, in dem der Grenzgänger Levine Herausragendes leistet.

„Ich suche die Lösung mathematischer Gleichungen, indem ich mich in der geometrischen Vorstellungswelt bewege“, beschreibt der Forscher seine Arbeit. Levine untersucht strukturelle Eigenschaften von Gleichungen und wendet dabei Methoden aus einem anderen mathematischen Gebiet an: der Topologie. In der Topologie studiert man Eigenschaften von räumlichen Gestalten. Levine versucht, die vorhandene, aber nicht offensichtliche Verbindung zwischen Algebra und Topologie zu nutzen, um Probleme aus der Algebra zu lösen. Zum Beispiel entsteht so aus einer Gleichung eine räumliche Gestalt in Form einer Hose aus drei Kreisen und einer Flächenhülle. Die entsprechende Zeichnung erinnert an ein Schnittmuster. Es sind solche Verbindungen zwischen geometrischen Figuren, auch in höheren Dimensionen als Höhe, Breite und Tiefe, mit denen sich der unkonventionelle Mathematiker auseinandersetzt. Die Geometrie sei so flexibel, dass sich mit ihrer Hilfe Lösungen manchmal leichter finden ließen als auf algebraischem Wege, so Levine.

Zwischen Formeln und Formen

Mathematiker verbinden mit dem Namen Marc Levine vor allem den algebraischen Kobordismus. Diese Theorie, die Geometrie, Topologie und Algebra verbindet, entwickelte er gemeinsam mit dem Franzosen Fabien Morel. „Wir nahmen die geometrisch-topologischen Beschreibungen des Mathematikers Daniel Quillen, die sich nicht direkt als algebraische Gleichungen niederlegen lassen, und formten die Beschreibungen so um, dass sie sich doch in der Algebra anwenden ließen“, sagt Levine. Auf diese Weise sei es gelungen, Begriffe aus der Topologie in die Algebra zu überführen – etwa den Kobordismus.

Ein Kobordismus ist eine sogenannte Äquivalenzrelation, zum Beispiel die erwähnte Hose als Verknüpfung eines Kreises mit zwei weiteren Kreisen. Mithilfe ihrer Theorie konnten Levine und Morel erfolgreich mehrere mathematische Lehrsätze herleiten. Anwendungen außerhalb der Mathematik seien gegenwärtig noch nicht abzusehen, sagt der Humboldt-Professor. Doch das kann sich schnell ändern. Die sogenannte K-Theorie, eine abstrakte Art der linearen Algebra, mit der er sich früher beschäftigt habe, besitze heute Anwendungen in der Quantenphysik und der Stringtheorie, so Levine.

Marc Levine wird einer der Leiter des Essener Seminars für Algebraische Geometrie und Algebra an der Universität Duisburg-Essen werden, das im Fachbereich Mathematik geplant ist. Mit ihm und seinen Kollegen arbeiten in Essen mittlerweile mehr als 50 Wissenschaftler in acht Arbeitsgruppen in diesem in der Mathematik zentralen, aber auch grenzüberschreitenden Bereich. Diese Struktur soll gemeinsame Projekte im Fachbereich und mit Kollegen anderer Universitäten ermöglichen. Marc Levine ist von seiner neuen Arbeitsstätte begeistert: „Wir arbeiten hier am Essener Campus an ähnlichen Fragestellungen, kommunizieren und kooperieren in zahlreichen persönlichen Gesprächen offen miteinander. So können bahnbrechende Ergebnisse entstehen.“

Die interessanteren Kollegen sind in Deutschland

Vor seinem Wechsel nach Essen forschte und lehrte der US-Mathematiker 26 Jahre an der Northeastern University in Boston, Massachusetts – diesen Kontakt will er jetzt in Kooperationsprojekte ummünzen. Bereits sein erster Deutschlandbesuch, 1983 in Bonn, gefiel ihm sehr. „Ich erhielt viel Zuspruch für meine Forschungsarbeit“, erinnert er sich. In den USA gebe es zwar viel mehr Mathematiker und mehr Stellen, erklärt er. Doch die für ihn interessanteren Kollegen habe er in Deutschland und Frankreich getroffen.

Mit seiner Essener Kollegin Hélène Esnault verbindet Levine eine langjährige Bekanntschaft und Zusammenarbeit. Aus der gegenseitigen Wertschätzung ergaben sich in den Neunzigerjahren mehrere Gastaufenthalte in Essen. „Wir forschen künftig mit einem weltweit angesehenen Mathematiker, der unsere Gruppe stärkt und zugleich für unsere Arbeit wirbt: Die Alexander von Humboldt-Professur trug dazu bei, dass mit dem Topwissenschaftler zugleich auch ein talentierter Nachwuchsmathematiker zu uns kam – obwohl er viele andere Möglichkeiten in Deutschland hatte“, freut sich Hélène Esnault.

Der Humboldt-Professor begann in Essen sofort mit dem Netzwerken: Mitte Februar 2010 fand dort die internationale Konferenz „Algebraische Geometrie und Arithmetik“ statt. Sie wurde dem kurz zuvor verstorbenen Professor Eckart Viehweg gewidmet, der maßgeblich daran mitgearbeitet hatte, Marc Levine als Humboldt-Professor nach Essen zu holen. Gemeinsam mit seinen Kolleginnen und Kollegen empfing Levine 150 Teilnehmer aus der ganzen Welt, 20 der angesehensten Mathematiker stellten ihre neuesten Forschungsergebnisse vor.