Learning from the physicians of antiquity

Text: Trio MedienService Bonn

Philip van der Eijk is an internationally recognised expert in the history of ancient medicine, classical philosophy and the history of science. He is not only a highly decorated classicist, but also a committed science man-ager who is now in Berlin enriching the world’s prime location for classical studies.

Which type of health care is best? How can we prevent diseases? What improves the quality of life? These questions are crucial to modern societies. Philip van der Eijk’s research shows that people were already addressing issues like these in classical antiquity. The classical philologist focuses especially on the discourse in the Ancient World surrounding the public health system, and the theoretical, conceptual and methodological foundations of medicine. For instance, what influences did philosophical concepts have on therapies? “In the Ancient World there was a continuous dialogue between medicine and philosophy,” says van der Eijk. “In those days a physician also had to be a philosopher.” In the face of competition from popular cult healing practices, a physician in the Ancient World was expected to be convincing in both theoretical and rhetorical terms. In his arguments he had to abide by the rules of logic whilst strengthening society’s trust in medicine through communication, explains van der Eijk. This is surprisingly similar to modern demands.

For a long time, medical history dealt mainly with the history of illnesses, theories about illnesses and the history of treating diseases. But what does “health” mean? How healthy were the inhabitants of a city such as Rome during antiquity? What ideas did people have about a healthy lifestyle and the environment, about prevention and cure? What were people’s views on the interaction between body and mind in the Ancient World? Who was regarded as the competent, decision-making authority on such questions? With Philip van der Eijk Berlin’s research landscape has now gained an expert who is brilliant at generating interdisciplinary answers to such questions.

Since the beginning of 2010, van der Eijk has continued to broaden the base of his work on his current research project “Medicine of the Mind, Philosophy of the Body – Discourses of Health and Well-being in the Ancient World” in Berlin. At the same time, he is concentrating his multilateral research into ancient medicine and philosophy on questions of the body and soul. The nature of scientific communication is also a key focus of his attention. The way in which thought, knowledge and information are conveyed is changing, and nowadays it is no longer conceivable without such modern media as the Internet, email or Twitter. Together with modern linguistic and literary scholars the Humboldt Professor wants to show that it is only new media that evolve, whilst the discussion surrounding tensions between content and form, between thought and expression already existed in the Ancient World.

Medicine and culture

“Medical ideas and theories never exist in a vacuum. They always interact within culture and society,“ van der Eijk stresses. The classical scholar was one of the first to investigate ancient medicine in a broad social and cultural context, as opposed to the traditional approach of treating it simply as the history of a discipline. In this way he integrated medicine into the study of the Ancient World as a whole. Van der Eijk has written numerous publications on the communication and dissemination of medical ideas in classical antiquity, compelling analyses of their relationship to classical philosophy, religion and the history of ideas, and contributions on the history of their reception. Locating ancient medicine within a broader context is his main concern and his major achievement.

Van der Eijk, who was born in the Netherlands, not only builds bridges between times and disciplines, such as history, philosophy, literary studies and medicine, he is also a brilliant networker. Now he has come to Berlin from the British University of Newcastle and is very excited at the prospect of using all the outstanding opportunities that the German capital has to offer for his research. “Making good use of Berlin’s broad spectrum of opportunities for the future is a wonderful challenge,” says van der Eijk. At Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin the versatile scholar will be working together with the International Graduate School of Mind and Brain as well as the Excellence Cluster ‘Topoi’. In his work on the ancient Greek physician Galen he intends to cooperate more closely with the research project Corpus Medicorum Graecorum/Latinorum at the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities. The academy is publishing critical editions of ancient medical writings with accompanying translations in the context of the “Zentrum Grundlagenforschung Alte Welt”.

Similar to his work in Newcastle, van der Eijk also wants to offer seminars to medical students in Berlin. Talking about his experience so far he notes that “practitioners find it extremely useful to be offered insights into the theory and the history of communicating medical knowledge.” Doctors who have benefitted in this way would be well-equipped to generate changes in the international debate on better health systems.

Lernen von den Ärzten der Antike

Text: Trio MedienService Bonn

Philip van der Eijk gilt weltweit als Experte für die Geschichte der antiken Medizin, antike Philosophie und Wissenschaftsgeschichte. Der mit zahlreichen internationalen Auszeichnungen geehrte Altphilologe und engagierte Wissenschaftsmanager bereichert nun den internationalen Spitzenstandort der klassischen Altertumswissenschaften in Berlin.

Welche Gesundheitsversorgung ist die beste? Wie beugt man Krankheiten vor? Wodurch erhöht sich die Lebensqualität? Das sind existenzielle Fragen für moderne Gesellschaften. Philip van der Eijks Forschung zeigt, dass man sich bereits im klassischen Altertum mit solchen Problemen auseinandersetzte. Der Altphilologe konzentriert sich auf den antiken Diskurs zum Gesundheitswesen und die theoretischen, konzeptuellen und methodologischen Grundlagen der Medizin. Welchen Einfluss hatten philosophische Überlegungen zum Beispiel auf die Therapie? „Es gab im Altertum einen fortwährenden Dialog zwischen Medizin und Philosophie“, sagt van der Eijk. „Ein antiker Arzt musste auch Philosoph sein.“ Der Konkurrenz populärer kultischer Heilungswelten ausgesetzt, sollte ein Arzt den antiken Ideen nach theoretisch und rhetorisch überzeugend wirken, in seiner Argumentation den Gesetzen der Logik folgen und zudem über Kommunikation das Vertrauen der Gesellschaft in die Medizin stärken, erklärt van der Eijk. Das ist überraschend nah an modernen Forderungen.

Die Medizingeschichte hat sich lange Zeit vorwiegend mit der Geschichte von Krankheiten, Theorien über Krankheiten und mit der Geschichte von Krankheitsbewältigung beschäftigt. Was aber bedeutete „Gesundheit“? Wie gesund waren die Einwohner einer Stadt wie Rom in der Antike? Welche Gedanken machte man sich über gute Lebensführung und Umwelt, über Vorbeugung und Heilung? Wie verstand man in der Antike die Wechselwirkungen zwischen Körper und Geist? Wer galt in diesen Fragen als die kompetente und entscheidende Instanz? Für die interdisziplinäre Beantwortung solcher Fragen gewinnt die Berliner Forschungslandschaft mit van der Eijk einen erstklassigen Experten.

Sein aktuelles Forschungsprojekt „Medicine of the Mind, Philosophy of the Body – Discourses of Health and Well-Being in the Ancient World“ führt van der Eijk seit Anfang 2010 in Berlin auf breiter Basis fort und konzentriert darin zugleich seine vielseitigen Forschungen zu antiker Medizin und Philosophie auf Fragen nach Leib und Seele. Auch das Nachdenken über Wissenschaftskommunikation erhält darin viel Raum. Wie Denken, Wissen und Information vermittelt werden, ändert sich und ist heute nicht mehr ohne moderne Medien wie Internet, E-Mail oder Twitter vorstellbar. Gemeinsam mit modernen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaftlern will der Humboldt-Professor zeigen, dass lediglich neue Medien entstehen, während die Spannung zwischen Inhalt und Form, zwischen Gedanke und Ausdruck schon in der Antike diskutiert wurde.

Medizin und Kultur
„Medizinische Gedanken und Theorien existieren nie in einem Vakuum, sondern haben immer eine kulturelle, gesellschaftliche Resonanz“, betont der Altertumswissenschaftler. Van der Eijk war einer der Ersten, die antike Medizin nicht mehr nur als die Geschichte einer Disziplin betrachteten, sondern in einem breiten sozialen und kulturellen Umfeld erforschten. Damit integrierte er die Medizin in das Studium der antiken Welt insgesamt. Zahlreiche Publikationen zur Kommunikation und Verbreitung medizinischer Ideen in der Antike, einschlägige Analysen über ihre Beziehung zur antiken Philosophie, Religion und Geistesgeschichte sowie Beiträge zu ihrer Rezeptionsgeschichte hat van der Eijk vorgelegt. Die Kontextualisierung der antiken Medizin ist sein Hauptanliegen und Verdienst.

Van der Eijk ist nicht nur ein Brückenbauer zwischen Zeiten und Disziplinen wie Geschichte, Philosophie, Literaturwissenschaft oder Medizin, sondern auch ein hervorragender Netzwerker. Der niederländische Wissenschaftler, der von der britischen Universität Newcastle nach Berlin gekommen ist, kann es kaum erwarten, die hervorragenden Möglichkeiten der deutschen Hauptstadt für seine Forschung intensiv zu nutzen. „Es ist eine großartige Herausforderung, diese Palette an Möglichkeiten in Berlin zukünftig fruchtbar in Beziehung zu setzen“, sagt van der Eijk. Der vielseitige Wissenschaftler wird an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin in der International Graduate School of Mind and Brain ebenso mitarbeiten wie im Exzellenzcluster TOPOI. Für seine Arbeit über den antiken Arzt Galen will er verstärkt mit dem Forschungsprojekt Corpus Medicorum Graecorum/Latinorum an der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften zusammenarbeiten. Dort werden im Rahmen des „Zentrum Grundlagenforschung Alte Welt“ medizinische Schriften der Antike in textkritischen Editionen mit Übersetzungen herausgegeben.

Wie schon in Newcastle will van der Eijk in Berlin Veranstaltungen für Studierende der Medizin anbieten: „Wenn man Praktikern Einblicke in die Theorie und Vermittlungsgeschichte medizinischen Wissens anbietet, erleben sie das als ausgesprochen wertvoll“, berichtet er von seinen Erfahrungen. Derart ausgebildete Ärzte könnten langfristig für frischen Wind in der weltweiten Diskussion um bessere Gesundheitssysteme sorgen.