Learning to read man’s biological text

Text: Sven Titz

Burkhard Rost has had a decisive influence on the new discipline of computational biology. His computer programmes help us to understand man’s biological blueprint more precisely. Now he is to establish a group of prominent researchers at the Technische Universität München.

Proteins are one of the keys to modern medicine. “Today, there is not a single new medicine developed without analysing proteins,” says Burkhard Rost. In principle all diseases have something to do with proteins. As man has up to 25,000 proteins encoded in his genome the need to analyse them is correspondingly great. This, however, is not conducted by armies of laboratory workers – today many biological substances are examined by computer. In the past few years computational biology has emerged as a dynamic, specialised field of its own. Rost is one of its leading specialists and has played a considerable role in shaping it.

The German researcher has spent the past ten years working at Columbia University in New York. Most recently he and his working group conducted research on how proteins change, whether and how they integrate, and what function they perform in the body. “We do not know what half of human proteins are there for,” he says. To make this meticulous analytical task easier Rost and his team developed special software. The algorithms developed for this purpose are adaptive – this accelerates the analysis. Rost’s computer programmes are also of assistance to many other academics, among other things in deciphering the genome. But even with the help of computers, mastering the flood of data remains a mighty challenge. “The quantity of biological data grows much faster than the speed of the computer,” says the 47-year-old.

Focusing on the genome

Rost will now continue his research as Humboldt Professor at the Institute of Computational Biology at the Technische Universität (TU) München. His research will consequently focus on new issues. In the future he will be more concerned with the genome. This is also due to Professors Hans-Werner Mewes, Dmitrij Frishman and Martin Hrabé de Angelis, who are already working in the field of genome-oriented computational biology at the Technische Universität and the Helmholtz Center. Furthermore, with the Munich-based Professors Stefan Kramer and Ernst Mayr, Rost is also in an excellent environment for pure computer science. And finally a number of members of the New York working group are following their boss to Bavaria.

Unusually broad education

Rost’s move to Munich means a lot to TU President Wolfgang Herrmann, who worked hard to achieve this end. “We are now unrivaled in the European computational biology scene,” he affirms. Another contributing factor in Rost’s decision was the fact that his wife has also found an excellent position in Munich. The cell biologist Karima Djabali is a specialist in progeria, a rare disease which manifests itself in premature aging. Djabali will head her own working group at the TU’s Clinic for Dermatology and Allergology. In this way both prominent researchers will be able to continue their careers at the highest level.

The way to the top in computational biology was by no means a given for Rost, who was born in Lower Saxony. He initially studied neither biology nor computer science, but in addition to physics, in which he majored, he studied history, philosophy and psychology. Not until he had received his doctorate in theoretical physics from Heidelberg University did he end up, indirectly, in the realm of the life sciences. As a natural scientist with an unusually broad education he was well equipped to take the leap into computational biology.

Applications in cancer therapy

The applications of this relatively new field of research lie first and foremost in medicine – for example, in developing formulae for treating cancer and inhibiting the aging process. Rost also expects medical therapies to be able to be more individually tailored thanks to knowledge from the fi eld of computational biology – the catchword being “gene profiling”. Attention will be paid to examining how the genes of an individual person differ from the norm and what this means for the person’s health.

Computational biology is also of potential use in completely different fields, such as waste management. Rost hopes that one day plastic rubbish can be decomposed with the aid of proteins. Computational biology helps find such proteins. Rost’s personal scientific dream, however, is a completely different one: He hopes, one day, to simulate a real biological cell with the computer. But this is still a way off.

Den biologischen Text des Menschen lesen lernen

Text: Sven Titz

Burkhard Rost hat die junge Disziplin der Bioinformatik entscheidend mitgeprägt. Seine Computerprogramme helfen, den biologischen Bauplan des Menschen genauer zu verstehen. An der Technischen Universität München soll er nun eine Exzellenzforschergruppe aufbauen.

Proteine sind ein Schlüssel zur modernen Medizin. „Kein einziges neues Medikament wird heute ohne die Analyse von Proteinen entwickelt“, sagt Burkhard Rost. Jede Krankheit habe im Grunde etwas mit den Eiweißen zu tun. Da der Mensch bis zu 25 000 unterschiedliche Proteine besitzt, die in seinem Genom kodiert sind, ist der Analysebedarf entsprechend hoch. Doch das erledigen keine Heerscharen von Laboranten – heutzutage werden viele biologische Stoffe von Computern untersucht. Die Bioinformatik hat sich in den letzten Jahren zu einem eigenen, hochdynamischen Fachgebiet entwickelt. Rost ist einer ihrer führenden Spezialisten und hat sie maßgeblich mitgestaltet.

In den vergangenen zehn Jahren arbeitete der deutsche Forscher an der Columbia University in New York. Zuletzt untersuchte er mit seiner Arbeitsgruppe, wie sich Proteine verändern, ob und wie sie interagieren und welche Funktion sie im Körper ausüben. „Von der Hälfte der menschlichen Proteine wissen wir nicht, wozu sie eigentlich da sind“, sagt er. Um die Sisyphusarbeit der Analyse zu vereinfachen, hat Rost mit seinem Team eine spezielle Software entwickelt. Die für diesen Zweck verwendeten Algorithmen sind lernfähig – das beschleunigt die Analyse. Auch vielen anderen Wissenschaftlern helfen Rosts Computerprogramme weiter, unter anderem bei der Dechiffrierung des Genoms. Doch selbst mit Rechnerhilfe bleibt es eine gewaltige Herausforderung, der Datenflut Herr zu werden. „Die Menge der biologischen Daten wächst viel rascher als die Geschwindigkeit der Computer“, sagt der 47-Jährige.

Fokussierung auf das Genom
Jetzt wird er seine Forschungen als Humboldt-Professor am Institut für Bioinformatik der Technischen Universität (TU) München fortsetzen. Damit rücken für Rost neue Fragestellungen ins Zentrum seiner Forschungen. In Zukunft will er sich stärker mit dem Genom beschäftigen. Das liegt auch an den Professoren Hans-Werner Mewes, Dmitrij Frishman und Martin Hrabé de Angelis, die bereits an der TU sowie am Helmholtz Zentrum München im Bereich Genomorientierte Bioinformatik arbeiten. Auch in der reinen Informatik findet Rost mit den Münchner Professoren Stefan Kramer und Ernst Mayr ein ausgezeichnetes Umfeld. Und schließlich folgen einige Mitglieder der New Yorker Arbeitsgruppe ihrem Chef nach Bayern.

Ungewöhnlich breite Ausbildung
Rosts Wechsel nach München bedeutet dem TU-Präsidenten Wolfgang Herrmann, der sich stark dafür eingesetzt hat, sehr viel. „Nun sind wir in der Bioinformatik in Europa konkurrenzlos“, versichert er. Mit zur Entscheidung des Wahl-New-Yorkers beigetragen hat nicht zuletzt, dass seine Frau ebenfalls eine ausgezeichnete Position in München fand. Die Zellbiologin Karima Djabali ist eine Spezialistin für Progerie, eine seltene Erkrankung, die sich in vorzei- tiger Alterung manifestiert. An der TU-eigenen Klinik für Dermatologie und Allergologie wird Djabali eine eigene Arbeitsgruppe leiten. Auf diese Weise können beide Spitzenforscher ihre Karriere auf höchstem Niveau fortsetzen.

Der Weg an die Spitze der Bioinformatik war für den gebürtigen Niedersachsen keineswegs vorgezeichnet. Zunächst studierte er weder Biologie noch Informatik, sondern belegte – neben seinem Hauptfach Physik – Geschichte, Philosophie und Psychologie. Erst nach seiner Promotion in Theoretischer Physik an der Universität Heidelberg gelangte Rost über Umwege in das Reich der Lebenswissenschaften. Als Naturwissenschaftler mit ungewöhnlich breiter Ausbildung war er für den Sprung in die Bioinformatik gut gerüstet.

Anwendungen in der Krebstherapie
Die Anwendungen dieses relativ neuen Forschungsbereichs liegen in erster Linie in der Medizin, zum Beispiel in der Entwicklung von Präparaten zur Behandlung von Krebs und zur Hemmung von Alterungsprozessen. Rost rechnet auch damit, dass medizinische Therapien durch die Erkenntnisse der Bioinformatik individueller gestaltet werden könnten – Stichwort „gene profiling“. Dabei wird untersucht, wie sich die Gene einer Einzelperson vom Durchschnitt unterscheiden und was dies für die Gesundheit des Menschen bedeutet.

Einen möglichen Nutzen der Bioinformatik gibt es aber auch in völlig anderen Bereichen, etwa in der Müllbeseitigung. So hofft Rost, dass sich eines Tages mithilfe von Proteinen Plastikabfälle abbauen lassen. Die Bioinformatik hilft dabei, solche Proteine zu finden. Sein persönlicher wissenschaftlicher Traum ist allerdings noch ein ganz anderer: Er würde gern einmal eine echte biologische Zelle im Computer simulieren. Doch bis dahin ist es ein ziemlich weiter Weg.