Dance of the genes

Text: Joachim Czichos

Ulrike Gaul, one of the world’s leading developmental biologists, has made major contributions to our understanding of the genetic foundations of the development of living creatures. At the Gene Center of Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, she will now anchor a new research focus in the field of molecular systems biology.

Ulrike Gaul is an optimistic and energetic person: “Complaining won’t solve any problems,” she quips. Her attitude also reflects 20 years of experience as a researcher in the United States. This is where, after completing studies in biochemistry and physics at the University of Tübingen, Ulrike Gaul has gained international recognition for her pioneering work in the area of molecular systems biology. A Professor at Rockefeller University in New York since 1993, her research on the fruit fly (Drosophila melanogaster) has contributed greatly to a better understanding of how the activity of genes during developmental processes is regulated.

Gaul compares the role played by genes in the development of organisms to a complex ballet with hundreds if not thousands of dancers. Even though each of the dancers has different steps to perform, they must all move on cue and in a highly coordinated fashion. “We want to know how the dancers get their signals and how they communicate with one another”, says the scientist explaining her work. Combining experimental work with mathematical modelling, her field, systems biology, aims to examine complex biological processes at the level of the system as a whole. Staying with the image of the ballet, “it is not the actions of individual dancers that we focus on but the dance as an integrated whole”, says Gaul. “We are trying to decode the underlying choreography.”

The first realistic model

For her research, she uses fruit flies, which provide a very useful and accessible model of how a fertilised egg develops into a mature organism through the action of a multitude of genes. For years, Gaul has been investigating how genes are switched on and off during development so that organs and tissues are created at the right time and in the right positions. She has discovered numerous regulatory elements that control the spatial and temporal patterns of gene activity. Though not identical, these control mechanisms are similar in all animals. Typically, groups of genes combine to form larger regulatory networks. Collaborating with physicists and computational biologists, Ulrike Gaul succeeded in developing a realistic model of such a network for the first time. The aim of this kind of modelling is to predict the reaction of the system to disruption and ultimately to permit targeted intervention.

Now Gaul is moving her research work – and her flies – to the Gene Center of the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (LMU) and the CIPSM (Center for Integrated Protein Science Munich) Cluster of Excellence. At the Gene Center, several independent research groups are studying various aspects of gene regulation, using yeast and mammalian cells and the tools of biochemistry or structural biology. This creates an excellent opportunity for Gaul to pursue her interests in an interdisciplinary fashion. “It is the great potential offered by collaborations with my colleagues which make the Gene Center and Munich so attractive to me.”

A better understanding of disease

Even though her work focuses on basic research, the results are likely to have important medical implications. “Effective methods for decoding regulatory networks, as we want to develop them, will contribute to a better understanding of diseases and enable us to devise suitable therapies; they will also be useful in stem cell research,” the Humboldt Professor comments. Expectations are high, and they are shared by Patrick Cramer, Director of the Gene Center in Munich and Dean of the Faculty of Chemistry and Pharmacy. He sees Gaul’s appointment as a key element in the plan to develop the strategic field of systems biology in Munich and to enhance the international visibility of the Gene Center and the CIPSM Cluster of Excellence. Ulrike Gaul’s can-do attitude is perfectly suited to this endeavour, and she in turn finds that the atmosphere and conditions in German science have improved greatly since her departure 20 years ago.

Tanz der Gene

Text: Joachim Czichos

Als eine der international führenden Entwicklungsbiologinnen hat Ulrike Gaul maßgeblich zum Verständnis der genetischen Grundlagen der Entwicklung von Lebewesen beigetragen. Am Genzentrum der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München baut sie nun den neuen Forschungsschwerpunkt Molekulare Systembiologie auf.

Ulrike Gaul ist ein optimistischer, tatkräftiger Mensch. „Jammern löst keine Probleme“, sagt die Wissenschaftlerin. In dieser Einstellung spiegelt sich auch ihre 20-jährige Auslandserfahrung als Forscherin in den USA wider. Dort hat sich Ulrike Gaul – nach ihrem Studium der Biochemie und Physik in Tübingen – als Professorin an der Rockefeller University in New York seit 1993 mit ihrer Pionierarbeit auf dem Gebiet der Molekularen Systembiologie höchste internationale Anerkennung erworben. Ihre Forschungen an der Taufliege (Drosophila melanogaster) haben maßgeblich zum Verständnis der genetischen Steuerung von Entwicklungsprozessen beigetragen.

Gaul vergleicht die Rolle der Gene bei der Entwicklung von Organismen mit einem komplexen Ballett, an dem Hunderte, gar Tausende Tänzer beteiligt sind. Jeder hat andere Schritte zu tanzen, aber alle müssen sich koordiniert im Takt bewegen. „Wir fragen danach, wie die Tänzer ihre Signale erhalten und wie sie miteinander kommunizieren“, veranschaulicht die Wissenschaftlerin ihre Arbeit. Ihr Fach, die Systembiologie, versucht, komplexe biologische Prozesse in ihrer Gesamtheit zu erfassen und dabei experimentelle Arbeit mit mathematischen Modellen zu verbinden. Um im Bild des Balletts zu bleiben: „Wir sehen uns nicht die Aktionen einzelner Tänzer an, sondern das Ballett als Ganzes“, sagt Gaul. „Wir versuchen, die Choreografie zu entschlüsseln.“

Erstmals ein realitätsnahes Modell
Und das mithilfe der Taufliege. An ihr lässt sich exemplarisch studieren, wie aus einer befruchteten Eizelle unter dem Einfluss vieler Gene ein komplexer Organismus entsteht. Seit Jahren untersucht Gaul, welche Gene wann, wo und wie an- oder abgeschaltet werden müssen, damit sich ein Embryo entwickeln kann. Dabei hat sie zahlreiche Kontrollelemente entdeckt, die Genaktivitäten zeitlich so steuern, dass Organe und Gewebe an der richtigen Position angelegt werden. Diese Steuerungsmechanismen sind nicht bei allen Tieren identisch – aber ähnlich. Meist schließen sich Gruppen von Genen zu größeren regulatorischen Netzwerken zusammen. Gemeinsam mit ihren Forscherkollegen ist es Ulrike Gaul erstmals gelungen, durch quantitative Beschreibung ein realitätsnahes Modell eines solchen Netzwerks zu entwickeln. Das Ziel dieser Modellbildung ist es, Reaktionen auf Eingriffe vorhersagen und biologische Prozesse schließlich gezielt beeinflussen zu können.

Ihre Forschungen will Gaul nun an ihrem neuen Arbeitsplatz im Genzentrum der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität in München und dem Exzellenzcluster für Proteinwissenschaften CIPSM (Center for Integrated Protein Science Munich) fortsetzen. Ihre Fliegen bringt sie aus den USA gleich mit; in deren Züchtung steckt die Mühe vieler Jahre. Im Genzentrum arbeiten bereits mehrere unabhängige Forschergruppen – unter anderem auch mit Säugetierzellen. Für Gaul bietet sich hier die Möglichkeit, auf vielfache Weise interdisziplinär zu arbeiten. „Es ist das Potenzial solcher Kooperationen, die das Genzentrum und München für mich so attraktiv machen.“

Verständnis zahlreicher Krankheiten
Ihre Arbeit ist zwar in erster Linie Grundlagenforschung – aber aus den Ergebnissen können sich zahlreiche medizinische Anwendungen ergeben. „Effektive Methoden zur Entschlüsselung regulatorischer Netzwerke, wie wir sie entwickeln wollen, werden zum Verständnis vieler Krankheitsprozesse und zur Entwicklung entsprechender Therapien beitragen können, sie werden aber auch in der Stammzellforschung nützlich sein“, sagt die Humboldt-Professorin. Die Erwartungen sind hoch, auch beim Leiter des Münchner Genzentrums und Dekan der Fakultät für Chemie und Pharmazie, Patrick Cramer. Gauls Berufung ist für ihn ein wesentlicher Teil der Strategie, in München das Zukunftsfeld Systembiologie aufzubauen und so die internationale Sichtbarkeit des Genzentrums und des Exzellenzclusters weiter zu erhöhen. Da kommt der zupackende Optimismus Ulrike Gauls gerade recht, und sie stellt ihrerseits fest, dass sich die Stimmung in der deutschen Forschungslandschaft seit ihrem Weggang vor 20 Jahren deutlich verbessert hat.