Anne van Aaken

Law / Economics

What happens when parliamentarians are under obligation to respect transparency and publish their outside earnings? And what is the legal status of what is known as “nudging”? With this relatively recent method of regulation the state refrains from imposing prohibitions and obligations to make people behave in a certain way. Instead, politicians rely on nudging, pushing people in a specific direction, but leaving the decision up to them. Examples include people actively deciding against organ donation and having to file an objection to it or telling consumers in their energy bills that they are using more power than their neighbours.
Anne van Aaken is one of the world’s leading experts on fundamental legal issues of this kind. She works in diverse legal fields ranging from public international law through international economic law to areas like corruption, and financial market supervision and regulation. She tackles these topics from the perspective of both law and behavioural economics – a bridging method that promises to generate new approaches to issues such as the change brought about by globalisation processes in legal systems or the development of (international) law. Anne van Aaken is invited to the University of Hamburg to drive the economic analysis of law as well as the Law Faculty’s theoretical orientation and empirical research.

Nominating University: University of Hamburg

Prof. Dr. Anne van Aaken

Born in Germany in 1969, Anne van Aaken is professor of Law and Economics, Legal Theory, Public International Law and European Law at the University of St Gallen, Switzerland. After university and completing her doctorate she conducted research in Germany, amongst others at the Max Planck Institute for Research on Collective Goods in Bonn and the Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law in Heidelberg. She has also worked in Israel, Ethiopia, Chile and the United States where she was a visiting researcher at institutions such as Berkeley Law School and Yale Law School. She is a member of associations like the International Law Association and Vice President of the European Society of International Law. Anne van Aaken sits on the editorial boards of many journals, including the European Journal of International Law.

Anne van Aaken

Rechtswissenschaften / Ökonomie

Welche Effekte hat es, wenn Parlamentarier zu Transparenz verpflichtet werden und ihre Nebeneinkünfte öffentlich darlegen müssen? Und wie ist das sogenannte Nudging rechtlich zu bewerten? Bei dieser recht jungen Regulierungsmethode setzt der Staat nicht auf Verbote und Pflichten, damit sich Bürger in bestimmter Art und Weise verhalten. Stattdessen setzt die Politik Nudges: Sie gibt den Bürgern „Anstupser“ in eine bestimmte Richtung, lässt ihnen aber die Möglichkeit, zu entscheiden. Beispiele finden sich etwa dort, wo sich Bürger aktiv gegen eine Organspende entscheiden und ihr widersprechen müssen oder Verbraucher in Abrechnungen darauf hingewiesen werden, dass sie mehr Energie verbrauchen als ihre Nachbarn.
Anne van Aaken gilt als international profilierte Expertin für solche Grundfragen des Rechts. Sie widmet sich vielfältigen Rechtsgebieten, vom Völkerrecht über das internationale Wirtschaftsrecht bis hin zu Gebieten wie Korruption oder Finanzmarktaufsicht und -regulierung. Diese Themen betrachtet sie aus Perspektive der Rechtswissenschaften und der Verhaltensökonomie – ein Brückenschlag, der neue Ansätze bei Fragen zum Wandel rechtlicher Ordnung oder Entwicklungen von (internationalem) Recht durch Prozesse der Globalisierung verspricht. An der Universität Hamburg soll Anne van Aaken die ökonomische Analyse des Rechts vorantreiben und die theoretische Orientierung sowie die empirische Forschung der Hamburger Rechtswissenschaften stärken.

Nominierende Universität: Universität Hamburg

Prof. Dr. Anne van Aaken

1969 in Deutschland geboren, ist Professorin für Recht und Ökonomie, Rechtstheorie, Völker- und Europarecht an der Universität St. Gallen, Schweiz. Nach Studium und Promotion forschte sie in Deutschland unter anderem am Max-Planck-Institut zur Erforschung von Gemeinschaftsgütern, Bonn, sowie am Max-Planck-Institut für ausländisches öffentliches Recht und Völkerrecht, Heidelberg. Weitere Stationen waren Israel, Äthiopien, Chile und die USA, wo van Aaken Gastforscherin unter anderem an der Berkeley Law School oder der Yale Law School war. Sie ist Mitglied von Verbänden wie der International Law Association und Vizepräsidentin der European Society of International Law. Van Aaken gehört den Redaktionsbeiräten zahlreicher Fachzeitschriften an, etwa dem European Journal of International Law.